We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 287 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited yesterday afternoon got lunchtime special. What a bargain for such delicious food. My husband was in heaven when he tasted your chips, pies packed full of meat. We are tempted to go back today, if we don't make it will nip in tomorrow to get takeaway pies to take home. If your a pie eater you must visit. Book as they sure get busy. Thanks for a lovely meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackiejjjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for The Handmade Pie & Ale House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,197 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Came here with my husband for a meal, really nice place with great staff. The menu was good, quite a big selection to choose from, the pie and chips were really good and we really enjoyed it. The only criticism I would have is that we had stools to sit on, I know this goes with the laid back bar style that they are going for which is great, but I think when you have booked a table somewhere for a meal they should give you chairs as we were a little uncomfortable by the end and moved on to somewhere else for a night cap instead of staying there- tiny detail though and didn't take away from the pleasant meal we had enjoyed. Would definitely recommend and will be returning again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Hello there Hannah R.
Sounds like this was your first visit to us here at our 'house', so welcome! We are very pleased to see you thought we had a really nice place and a great selection of our award winning handmade pies, great staff and you both enjoyed your food so much. It's important to us that you thought our 'almost famous rustic chips' were also to be really good. There's so many chips around and we do try hard to ensure ours 'stand out from the crowd', it's great when people (and there are many) recognise that.
About the smaller stools, you are correct in that they go along with our downstairs laid back bar style. As well as those, we do also have chairs, benches and tall seats in the bar and with that much variety we think this provides a good mix for the various preferences of our PieFolk. When you come to visit us again, if you have any particular requirements please do mention it at the time of booking and I'm sure we'll be able to accommodate. Just as a point of note, our beautiful upstairs (of which there are some photos on this Tripadvisor page) is a bit more formal and therefore has only chairs and no stools, so I would recommend you request that next time you come and see us. Until then, kind regards from me, Tony & our PieTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have eaten here a lot of times and it is always amazing, great atmosphere, great service, awesome food!

Thank lyfejournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Pie Princess at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your 5* review of us chipstaa!
We work really hard to get the right blend of service and food here and it's always a pleasure to read such positive reviews and we sincerely thank you for that. We would love to have your party dine with us again and I look forward to your next visits. Thanks again and best wishes from the PiePrincess and everyone at THMP&AH team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have visited around lunchtime on about 4 occasions with a fellow pie enthusiast and their pies are divine. Excellent menu choice and non-pie people also have a few choices. Slight confusion about the lunchtime deals one time as only certain pies are included in the deal, explained on the menu but not on the specials board, but staff are always helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hello Dave P and thank you very much for your 'Pie Heaven' title!
Glad to see you have been into see us on about four occasions and you're making the most of our haPIE hour 12-5pm menu. Because this includes a free drink (pint of beer/glass of wine/soft drink/tea coffee etc) at just £8.76, as I'm sure you can imagine this has become extremely popular! We look forward to welcoming you again soon to try yet another 'divine' pie and we'll hopefully bring you back to your 'Pie Heaven' Lol. All the best, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Loved this place. Warm, inviting and staff are very welcoming. Good range of beers and nice to get a taster/samples of each. Pretty service by Dawn. The place is easy to find, just off the beach front and opposite the train station.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NotBob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hello there NotBob2014.
We all love your title! It's very pleasing to see you loved our 'house' being warm and inviting and you found our staff to be very welcoming. You mentioned that we have a good range of beers, I am not exactly sure when you came in but we have just increased our real ale choices by 50% because of customer demand. I see our Dawn gets another special welcome here on Tripadvisor which is fab, she surely must be doing a great job! Thanks so much for your 5* review and it's be great to see you again sometime soon. Thanks again, from THMP&AH team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing