We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went here with a group of friends on the bank holiday weekend. Pies were fantastic, Beers great and service very friendly. The cheesy chips are a real treat. This place is worth tracking down and booking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drsjclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    337
    61
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pies amazing, just wish the ale was better!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I want to start by saying I don't like pies. Never had a pie I enjoyed. I decided to visit because I am a big fan of real ale and was excited to try the beers on tap here.

What can I say? I am now a pie convert (only to these pies, mind), and have been back several times since. The pies are just beautiful - golden, flaky pastry which isn't at all heavy, flavoursome and plentiful filling. And do have the chips and cheese - actually amazing. My friend wants to marry the chef.

Service is great too, and very friendly.

The only reason I can't give five stars is that the ale has always been disappointing. I have never had a great pint here. Okay, some of the time it's the selection that's distinctly average and underwhelming (at least in my opinion) but I can't help but wonder if the way the beer is kept is also having an impact on the taste. It would be wonderful if they could put more thought into choosing a variety of new and different beers - we have lots of great brewers around the area - and to ensure the cellar management is spot on to get the beer into the glasses at its best.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a beautiful meal. Not a great lover of pies but really enjoyed my 2, yes 2, visits. Really enjoyed the Lamb and mint over and above the steak and ale. Love the little chip fryers and the pea colanders. Nice surroundings, well presented and staff wonderful. Recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_rogers277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pies & Beer”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Friends had visited this restaurant before and recommended it to us. Fortunately, they'd booked a table as it was a busy Friday evening. The variety and quality of pies were excellent. The beer was great and the wine list was not very extensive but was good and reasonably priced. The Eton Mess was enormous!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic0la_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Still Excellent”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited last night, Saturday 3rd May 2014. Greeted and offered drinks at the bar whilst we waited for our friends to arrive. The place was packed and there was a great atmosphere. We went upstairs to our table and just felt very well looked after the whole evening even though it was very busy. Food was delicious and they even do starters! None of us knew this despite visiting on numerous occasions. Everyone went home VERY full and happy.

Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing