We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Pies and More.”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Market Harborough, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Real Pies and More.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Not only does this restaurant serve excellent real pies (ie. not just a pastry lid) but it also has a range of very good real ales.

There is a large number of pies to choose from, so definitely something for everybody and both the service and staff are very good.

One word of advice; book early, this place is very popular.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbbiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    342
    62
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and tasty food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Who doesn't like a Pie and a Pint.? The beer was excellent and the food very tasty. My girlfriend and I both had the traditional Steak and Ale pie which we enjoyed but was surprised it wasn't bigger. My girlfriend doesn't like big meals but even she said she would have liked more on the plate. That said the quality was excellent and the place was buzzing so made for an enjoyable evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulianMay46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It does what it says on the tin.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Good tastey well filled pies, good varied selection of fillings. Enjoy with their take on cheesey chips. A well stocked cellar of ales and cider. Great on their own, but put together gives you a real lip smacking meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pie perfection!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I'm not really a massive pie fan but the other half won the toss so that's where we went with 3 children in tow (3, 6 & 10) for lunch. I am so glad I lost!! What a fantastic place and I had the Aussie Steak pie (Oh My GOODNESS!), it was simply stunning. The chips were the best I've ever eaten & we eat out weekly! We all cleared our plates. The lovely lady serving us was friendly, happy and helpful and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant. My 10 year old daughter was obsessed with the saloon style doors, cascading automatic taps and hand moisturiser in the very clean toilets. Expect a wait for your meal, this isn't a fast food place and it shows but it's so inviting & relaxing we could have sat there until the evening and eaten again!! In fact, I want one again now! The other half really enjoyed his green coloured ale even though it looked like fairy liquid water! The lunchtime menu had special deals where some of the pies came with a free drink so was about £10 for pie, choice of potato, choice of sides & a pint! Can't wait to holiday in Dorset again, this restaurant will definitely be having another visit from us :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Being in the area on holiday we had seen an advert for this place and it looked perfect for us (family of five). So after a day trip out we called for an early dinner. We were well received and looked after by Sara. The place is well furnished and was nice and clean. Everybody was pleased with the menu choice and were early enough to just make the lunch time special although not all the fillings were available on this menu. I was offered a sample of all 4 ales available, tried them all and found them all excellent! We waited around15 minutes before the fantastic food arrived hot and delicious. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their chosen pie with crispy chips, awesome gravy and plenty of it. Service was excellent, food was fantastic, proper beer served, you must try it! Probably wise to book to be certain as I think we were lucky to find a table available on spec.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing