We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going again and so will you.”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
2 reviews
“I'm going again and so will you.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's easy to miss, a plain looking shop just past the train station but once your inside you feel like a member of an exclusive club. Every face smiles (most because their full of pie) and the staff are happy to have a laugh and joke as if they have known you for years and just haven't seen you in a while. Also the food is spectacular with portions sided to satisfy (even when you're a 6"3inch 18.7stone oger like me) it looks costly on the menu but go in and try it, you'll be back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drackost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    342
    62
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfect pies!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took the family having been impressed on a previous visit. The whole experience was equally as good if not better. The excellent quality of the décor is matched by the food and service. Whilst pies are unlikely to ever qualify as haute cuisine this restaurant raises them to a new level! Be prepared to wait for your food as the pies are cooked to order and because of growing popularity it can be very busy. It took nearly two years to refurbish the Ale house to a very high standard. It has been worth waiting for!! We will be back....regularly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 190817Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing pies”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Handmade Pie and Ale House has lovely décor throughout with wooden beams, which add to the atmosphere of the place. We booked a table and ordered our pies a week up-front and this was no problem (All requests were catered for). Two of us had the CBC pie (Cauliflower, Broccoli and cheese) and one had the CM (Chicken and Mushroom). The pies are of a good size and contain a lot of filling. We particularly liked the letters on top of the pies showing you which one you had ordered. Sides consisted of either homemade chips or buttery mash, with either garden peas, mushy peas or beans and gravy is also provided (Including vegetarian), We all had mash with our meal but ordered a side of the chips to try - even though the chips were lovely, we all preferred the mash. Prices are reasonable including drinks and we had no issues with the service we received even though it was a Saturday and fairly busy.

Having got back home to Nottingham, we have shown the pictures of your pies to our friends and they are wishing (just like us) that you would open up a restaurant in Nottingham. We certainly need somewhere nice like this to eat a homecooked meal, that isn't your usual standard of pizzas and burgers etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notts287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We decided to give this place a go as we live in Weymouth and come in by bus from time to time. thought we would have a drink as well.

The staff where actually happy in their work and treated everyone with a smile and where very helpfull if we needed anything.

The pie and ale house has a certain ring to it that makes you think twice but we where quite surprised by it. Modern and clean with actually quite a nice atmosphere. Only draw back is that the tables are a little crammed in but that is due to the shape of the room.

Real meat in the pies not your normal rubbish and lots of it. The Cheesy chips worked well.The ale was good to. left feeling happy andf full. great selection of pies yum, yum

Would we go again? a big fat yes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy1966190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pies”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having read the other reviews we thought we'd give this restaurant a go and we were not disappointed. Set in an old pub, it was a lot smaller than we expected, this gave a nice cosy atmosphere. The intial greeting was very friendly, we hadn't booked, they were busy, so asked to pop back in half an hour. Not a problem as it was such a nice day, it might be worth booking a table as I guess it could get very busy especially at weekends.
Lots of variety on the menu, they do other things, not just pies. My sons each chose the chicken wings, my wife had chicken and I went for the Aussie. They were amazing! You can chose chips or mash along with garden or mushy peas or a salad and you also get gravy. The bar serves a good selection of beers, wines and spirits.
I have to say that the loos were the cleanest and poshest I've ever seen in a restaurant.
Fantastic food, good service and a central location. This is definitely well worth a visit.
10/10
This is a great little restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing