We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never thought that pies could taste this good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Handmade Pie & Ale House

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 277 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never thought that pies could taste this good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Mrs Miggins would have a lot to learn from the fine patrons of the Pie and Ale House. I never thought that pies could taste this good, as well as the amazing chips. I took some friends there from out of town and they were blown away by the delicious food, great ambiance and great service. Our dishes always go back to the kitchen without a scrap left on them and the portions are more than adequate. I hope that they keep the standards high and I'll keep coming back and singing praises about the place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    323
    57
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pie's, and then some!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the second visit to this Pie house this year. The quality is superb and the flavours are to die for. What makes it extra special is the presentation with the pie served on lovely mash or with a side of fantastic chips, accompanied by an individual gravy boat and a miniature colander of fresh peas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KayGee338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pie and mash up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Situated across the road from the railway and coach stations this is not the part of town they showed George III even though it is only a stone's throw from the seafront. Relying only on the reviews and word of mouth we were staggered by the classy decor and quiet ambience. If you must have music to eat by then the soft acoustic rock piped here is excellent. Lovely loos and everywhere clean as a new pin. Food and drink? Yes and yes, wonderful large pies resting on a scrummy bed of mash with a veg side. Not sure how many pies are available on the night but enough to make choice difficult and a return inevitable. Great range of ales, if you love Doom Bar it's not here but Stargazer is a great alternative
Well done, see you again soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblerBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a delicious platter, I don't like pies! Cheese, cold meats and Greek dips. Beautifully presented, very appetising and it really had the wow factor. My friends all had various pies, all delicious they assured me. Again, great presentation and served by a lovely young waitress called Megan. Bags of personality and an efficient waitress, a credit to young people. Will definitely be back, which is odd for someone who doesn't like pies, but the atmosphere, alternative menu items and brilliant service all made for a very pleasant service. Thank you, I will be recommending you to all my friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueDafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of, if not the best pies I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Discovered this place last year while working down in Plymouth. Excellent quality food. I've just spent 3 nights down in Weymouth fro pleasure with my family, and visited the Pie and Ale House twice. This place does not just do excellent food, but it is also exceptional value. Each of the two meals for we ate here worked out cheaper that at the fish and chip shop around the corner, and that was including beer, which we didn't have at the chippy.

Can't recommend this place enough, thank you. Looking forward to working back down in Weymouth again just so I can eat out here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing