We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome to the town”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 287 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very impressed on our first visit. Service very attentive without bing over the top. Hot plates and hot great quality food and coffee was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharonpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

"What a welcome to the town", thank you so much for your kind comments Sharonpearce. As well as pies, I am particular about my coffee and I am very happy to see that you consider (as well as our "great quality food") our coffee to be excellent. It's an Italian ground superior coffee called 'Crema' and I believe it does have a superb flavour, without any bitterness and it's quality certainly is shining through and through from the feedback we are constantly getting from our customers. It's always great to hear when we are getting it right, we thank you for that and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tony and all of us here at the HMP&AH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for The Handmade Pie & Ale House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,466 - 1,470 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited again with 11 friends, a brand new pie.... had been invented and was well worth the trial The Fajita pie is a pie with a difference .... when it arrives you cut the top off, and then add the appropriate toppings..... great idea!
The great thing about this restaurant is that it develops and improves as time goes on..... never complacent.... willingly take on board suggestions. We waited for no longer than 20 minutes for the food for our party of 11.
Great food, brilliant atmosphere, fantastic value, we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nitrameel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hi there Martin Lee and thank you for your review following another visit with your party of 11. We are so pleased you considered our newest Fajita Pie introduction to be "Fajita Wonderful". This one has taken a while to develop and due to the quirky way of eating it, we did wonder if it should come with instructions! However, our trusty 'PiePeeps' are quick learners and it has already been warmly received and enjoyed by many. I would go as far to say that it has already gained a 'cult' status due to the 'PieLove' word on the street rapidly gathering pace. We are currently developing more of our own handmade pie flavours for all to enjoy. Just to let you know, these are always announced in advance to our lovely facebook friends (currently 476 pie friends) and twitter followers (currently 199 following the 'PieLove') together with FREE to enter competitions for FREE pies and tastings. So, they are the place to be for FREE pie! - and it doesn't get better than that ;-))

Tony and the Pie team hope to welcome you again soon for some further pie sustenance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

OK. nice place and great food, clean and tidy and staff helpful and friendly. This is the second time we have been to the establishment and were disappointed with the choice of pies available. And disappointed with the lack of communication by the staff to let us know when we were given the menus that most of the pies on the list were not available. If you sit down and are given a menu i feel that you should at this stage be told what is or isn't available at the outset, this saves 9 people deciding what to have for 10 mins or so and then being told what you wanted wasn't available and you should choose something else. This i find really annoying and not very good service. All the pies are nice and the starters are very good and well presented but the communication should be better. I will not accept that they had only just ran out of pies because the table who came in 15 minutes behind us did the same thing. They sat down spent 10 mins or so to decide and then be told that the pies were unavailable. Enjoyed the night but little disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuartstartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for your review Stuartstartin and I do accept that during our busier times, availability due to previous customer choice can sometimes be a disappointment. Because of that, we do state on our daily pie list "we make our handmade pies fresh constantly, however, they are then soon eaten by our lovely pie peeps and availability changes regularly throughout the day. The pies shown below are what we had when we kicked things off this morning and as the day moves on we may have more or less, therefore, the list below should be treated as a guide only, so please check actual availability at the time of ordering" However, I do understand that once someone takes a seat and 'sets their heart' (and believe me, some people really do!) on a particular flavour, only to be told it's sold out can be a let down, therefore, in light of your comments we have briefed our pie team to provide more information as to availability earlier.
I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the night and you consider our 'house' to be clean, tidy with great food and helpful and friendly staff. Thanks again for your review and without constructive comments such as yours we would not know how and where we perhaps need to improve our service to our valued 'PiePeeps'.

Tony and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

really enjoyed meal here last night.pies really tasty and service excellent.Couldn't fault it which is rare for me! We will be back
well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

There's not too much I can say to that olliebear12...! But if you found us to be "excellent and couldn't find fault" which is rare, I would like to say that with us being open just a mere four months, we do intend to continue in that excellence and to reinforce further on what we have built thus far. We value that recognition and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Take care, from Tony and all of us here at The Handmade Pie & Ale House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a FABULOUS place. Went for a late afternoon tea on Christmas Eve. A very well thought out place - warm and welcoming and lovely atmosphere.
The food was stunning and there were no disappointments in size, quantity and taste. 3 of us had the Steak and Guinness pie and 1 had the Aussie. We all loved them. Great quality cooking. The sides of fries and peas were delicious!
I can highly recommend the Pie and Ale House....will definitely, definitely return. A real jewel of a restaurant in Weymouth. Long may it reign!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

A "real jewel of a restaurant in Weymouth". Wow, thank you very much WeymouthKatis for such a fine review! Our mission is to provide exactly how you described our 'house', warm, welcoming with a fabulous lovely atmosphere and to see you have acknowledged that, it means a lot to us. We do try our best to ensure our handmade pies are enjoyed by all and to see you considered they were stunning and there were certainly no disappointments, that's exactly where we want to be and is music to our ears. We look forward to providing you again soon with some good old pie consumption and thank you again for the lovely review. It's appreciated!

Thanks! Tony and the PieTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing