We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pie and a pint par excellence”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #6 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pie and a pint par excellence”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visited on a weekday lunchtime and found it to be nicely decorated with a friendly ambience about the place.
The steak and ale pie I had was filled with good quality meat, a tasty gravy and a light and perfectly cooked pastry. My partner had the cottage pie which she said was delicious with it's creamy mash top. The chips were the best we've ever had. All washed down with a lovely pint of mild.
The owners and the staff were attentive and happy to chat with us. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
David D, thank you very much for your review. I think "Pie and a pint par excellence" says it all....!! That is how we have set out to be and we continually do try our best. I am very happy to see that you considered our handmade pie to be "filled with good quality meat" and your partner thought the cottage pie to be "delicious with it's creamy mash top". Our own rustic chips chips, we make from top quality Maris Piper potatoes, we get them in 25kg bags fresh, so they have never seen a freezer and we do them our own special way Our efforts in doing this certainly seem to come through to the end result when you consider them as "the best we've ever had". Wow! That is a compliment, thank you.

I guess the mild you were drinking was the Maggs from West Berkshire brewery? Although West Berks brewery do not deliver to Weymouth, it is so popular that we bring it down from Berkshire ourselves! It also came second in the results of the CAMRA Weymouth Octoberfest - Jolly good we had it there for you....

See you soon, Tony and the T.E.A.M (Together Everyone Achieves More)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    329
    60
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super Pies!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Called in on a Saturday afternoon to check opening hours on Sunday - the place was packed! A Bistro feel to the bar area, nicely decorated. Returned on Sunday for lunch and it was much quieter to start with, then larger parties came in and were taken upstairs. Friendly bar staff helped us choose some real ale" Good Old Boy" (we're really lager drinkers, but this pint was very palatable!!) Chose the Steak & Onion pie with real mash, and Garlic Kickin Chicken with chips. Both pies were full of filling and the pastry was light without disintigrating to nothing when cut. The chips were to die for - proper chunky potatoes! It was so good we came back with another friend Monday lunch time to sample different pies and. These were just as good and our friend tried one of the non pie dishes on offer - the cottage pie. This was a sizeable dish full of meat and covered in delicious cheese. Not many folks in on this ocassion but we did have to wait quite a while for the food to be delivered. Also slightly disappointed in the variety of pies available. I accept they might not all be available at all times but would expect some of the more common eg steak & onion or steak & ale to be available every day. Nevertheless I would still recommend this place for good honest food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazydaysCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Great to hear from you HazydaysCoventry and thank you for your two visits to us in two days! It's comforting to see you consider our staff to be friendly and helpful, that pleases me. I think our team are quite proud of where they work and what we do and it does seem to follow through to the level of service they provide to our guests. You mentioned one of the Real Ales "Good Old Boy", which comes all the way down from West Berkshire brewery and they do not in fact deliver to Dorset, but it is sooo good that we actually bring it down from Berkshire to Weymouth ourselves! Of course it always pleases me when people love our own handmade pies and, as you did, take the time to post how much they enjoyed them here on Tripadvisor. Our own handmade pies and careful selection of ever changing ales are what we are all about - oh and not forgetting the "to die for chips" you had of course...! Lastly, I do apologise if upon your visit we were a bit short on the variety of pies available. This would have been due to us being very busy beforehand, however, although our pies are being made fresh constantly every day but then are soon devoured by our lovely PiePeeps, therefore availability can fluctuate a bit during the day and occasionally we can get somewhat 'caught short' but on the positive side I guess, at least they are always fresh! It's great to see that you were still very happy with your choice, including your friends "sizable full of meat and covered in delicious cheese" Cottage pie!

Hope to see you soon.......

Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible attitude from staff”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked a table for my wife's birthday for 7:30 pm. We were told that the mains would be 40 mins so we were invited to order a starter while we wait. We finally got our main course 1hr 30 minutes after we arrived. After complaining to the manager we were met by a barrage of excuses for why the food was late. for example " we have a table of 30 people upstairs dont you know" like it was our fault for booking a table during a busy period. Food was average at best. I wish I had bought a round of ginsters from the co op. there is a reason why this place is next to a rank and the alkies who drink all day in the phone booths opposite. Don't ruin your evening at this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietary82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Dietary82. I have taken a look through the CCTV at our place and I have to inform you that you did not wait 1hr 30 minutes for your mains, as you have stated. As you pointed out, we were experiencing a very busy night for a Monday and you were informed that mains were at the time on a 40 minute delay. I do accept they took a little longer than that, but I note you have even said yourself, the mains arrived 1hr 30 minutes "after we arrived" and you obviously did not place your food order immediately upon arrival and in the meantime you did have a starters. With that said, although we did have a large party of over 30 people upstairs whom had unfortunately already placed their order just prior to your own, it does not and should not result anyone experiencing a drop in our level of service. In light of that, your whole table were apologised to by our manager and you were provided with complimentary food. It was disappointing to see that you considered this as insufficient, by continuing to swear directly at my female member of management and also talk in an extremely disparaging way to her several times which she obviously found upsetting. You subsequently then went off and set up a Tripadvisor account in order to leave us a rating of 'terrible' on all counts, being value, atmosphere, service and food. That is of course your prerogative, but to consider our place and our own handmade pies as inferior to "buying a round of Ginsters from the Co-op" (reviewers can see photos other visitors have taken above) is not fair and, in my opinion, again disparagingly unnecessary. Further, your comments in respect of us being rank, that is being disparaging on our class (which again is totally contrary to so many of our other Tripadvisor reviewers) and in particular your further improper disparaging comment in respect of "the alkies who drink all day" is totally unnecessary. All this, due to a slightly longer than expected wait time on food?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing pies, relaxed atmosphere and friendly service!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Tried this restaurant after trip advisor's high recommendations and I was really impressed. Good selection of delicious pies with a normal menu on offer too. Super friendly staff, fast service and most importantly fantastic pies! Will be coming back tomorrow before heading back from my 3 day work course. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and tasty food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I visited the Handmade Pie and Ale house with friends before going to the cinema, so glad we booked too. The atmosphere in this establishment is fantastic, so much thought has been given to the detail of the decor. There was a great selection of guest ales and cider's alongside the usual drinks one would expect to see, i was encouraged to have a few samples before choosing my drink. The food (pie's) are extremely tasty, just the right balance between filling and pastry and at a price of approx £4.50 per pie exceptional value for money. I chose the chicken, chorizo and cheese pie and it was delicious, there was a specials board to choose from too and meal choices that weren't also pies. Everyone within our group that night said they couldn't believe what value for money the evening was and we will all certainly be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing