We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a cafe”
Review of The Lookout Cafe

The Lookout Cafe
Ranked #16 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: While serving up cakes coffee and Dorset tea most of the time, the Lookout Cafe also serves tasty local fish and chips, fresh crab sandwiches, and salads of all types. Well worth eating there just for the view over Weymouth and Portland.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More than a cafe”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Popped in Sunday lunchtime on a lovely warm day. The views are spectacular back to Weymouth and along the coast.

The quality of the food far exceeded our expectations. The fish finger sandwiches were a particular favourite! I shared a seafood platter for two (£20-00) which was also very good (especially the crab) with the crusty bread supplied.

Not very big inside but ample seating outside on warmer days.
Well worth the walk up the hill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    92
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calstock
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great homemade pie”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The location is absolutely fabulous with views across Weymouth bay towards Portland. My steak and ale pie was very tasty with crispy chips (frozen & chunky but good) and nicely cooked and well drained peas. My mum's crab salad was delicious and fresh. Good service and friendly with it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice Little find”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We searched for seafood in weymouth without much luck but much closer to the caravan site we fould the Lookout Cafe, great food, nice and clean, pleasant staff. We had the crab salad & crab sandwiches lovely & fresh and well presented, well worth a visit. with great views over the bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol090159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drink. Perfect for a Warm Summers Day”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stopped off here for a light bite after running a 10K along the seafront in the beautiful sunshine.

I shared a lovely seafood platter that was fresh and bursting with flavour, complimented with 2 refreshing lemonades. Lots of great locally sourced food and drink served here.

The portion was generous and service was good and I'm told reasonably priced - I didn't pay :)

On a sunny day it's beautiful to sit outside on the green that looks out toward the water and there's plenty of tables.

Highly recommend for a summers lunch in the fresh sea air.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lukedc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lovely simple food , served well , stunning position , the crab sandwiches were amazing for freshness and taste !lovely cuppa too! great spot to rest after a bracing walk .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout Cafe also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Lookout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing