We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!”
Review of Sailors Return

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sailors Return
Ranked #139 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel was not a hotel but room above a pub. Impossible to find as the name of the pub is different to the hotel. Very unhelpful staff who constantly talk down to you. Extras include a working light in the room. Was greeted by staff who were saying how nasty the guest who had checked in front of my was, went downhill from there. If you do still chose this place make sure you request a parking pass which is in short supply. NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailorsreturn, Owner at Sailors Return, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
WE are in the section (Inns). We do state that parking permits are limited and must be reserved, first come first served. We pride ourselves on our staff, they go out of there way to help customers with any concerns. If issues arise we do our utmost to sort them out and make the guest happy. We can only do this if we know there is a problem and it has been reported to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    17
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
21
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having given this place a good initial review, I just want to return to say that it is very consistent in what it offers. If you want somewhere welcoming to stay for a couple of nights, especially whilst fishing, The Sailors Return is exactly what you need. Actually, welcoming is an understatement. After only three visits I'm already at the stage where I feel like I'm surfing dangerously close to Tripadvisor's guidelines for failing to declare a 'personal relationship' with the place that might bias my reviews!

Most recently I stayed with two friends over two nights for a fishing trip. We were offered a twin and a single at 30 quid a head each, were looked after fantastically, and as always given breakfast to take with us on the boat despite an incredibly early start. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tried to book five nights for a fishing trip but only the last three were available. Got to the Sailors to find that unfortunately they had double booked me. Kay and Vicky worked their socks off and managed to find me somewhere else at very short notice. Moved back to the Sailors the next night to find that I was only getting charged for the one night. Top service!

As said previously - if you want the Ritz, book the Ritz. If you are on a fishing trip and looking for good pub digs next to your boat - then stay here.

Room Tip: Understand from the off that you are staying above a pub that has a lot of live music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We returned from our day at sea to the Sailor's Return ready for a night out. The kind and helpful staff even offered to tumble dry our soggy shoes! A great easy and simple place to stay after a fishing trip with the guys, right on the edge of the docks above a great little pub. Life saving shower for one of our party who couldn't quite find his sea legs whilst the rest got started at the bar.
Great breakfast in the morning included in the room price too and can help yourself to teas and coffees.
£30 per person for one night was a good cheap price, especially for a bank holiday Sunday.

Cheers from Will, Nick, Ben and Dan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

the beds and deco looked old and tierd, the tv didn't work, the back door key didn't work, wasn't the easiest of places to get into as the room was in old loft space and we bumped our heads many times. Wouldn't stay here for more than 2 nights! On a positive note the staff were very welcoming and friendly just a shame about the room

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen5422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotts Ann, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

All our group wanted was comfy clean beds, a good nights sleep and a hearty full english in the morning before a days fishing. We paid £160 for 3 rooms for 4 people. And thats exactly what we got. It is what it is, a basic b&b, and we'll be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Did not expect "The Ritz" but for £160 for 2 nights B & B it was very basic. The carpet on the stairs had seen better days, and gel air-fresheners everywhere!!! The bed linen was clean but plastic sheet on mattress and on pillows!!! not at all comfortable. No mirror to dry hair, only one bedside light worked, no wardrobe only hooks on wall to hang clothes with one coat-hanger. On the "up side" Vicky (kitchen) was really FAB really kind and helpful, so were the customers who were back and forth in the mornings for their usual beverages. If you are men going on fishing trips this is the place to stay. Would I stay here again "maybe" as the location is excellent and of course you can take dogs which is why this place was chosen by us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnblaenavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Castle Hotel
The Old Castle Hotel
#134 of 165 in Weymouth
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boaters Guest House
Boaters Guest House
#106 of 165 in Weymouth
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#76 of 165 in Weymouth
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#21 of 165 in Weymouth
549 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#55 of 165 in Weymouth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailors Return? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailors Return

Property: Sailors Return
Address: 1 St. Nicholas Street, Weymouth DT4 8AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sailors Return reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailors Return Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing