We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good, we back again and again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Springhead

The Springhead
Ranked #34 of 277 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Springhead Pub and Restaurant is located at the heart of the small Dorset village of Sutton Poyntz. Quietly tucked away beneath the chalk downs, the village has a unique beauty which awaits discovery, a mile from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast, and only 3 miles north-west of Weymouth town centre.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good, we back again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Whilst visiting friends recently in Weymouth we were taken to The Springhead for a meal. It is recently under new management who gave a warm welcome......we certainly felt at home. We enjoyed it so much then we returned a further 2 times during our stay in Weymouth. My husband had the steak & ale pie twice and a roast dinner on the 3rd night. I also had the roast dinner, lasagne and home made sausage and mash....which was to die for!!! thoroughly enjoyed our visits, from the food to the homely welcome...we just wish that we didnt live so far away!

We will definately return next time we are in the area!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    142
    61
    53
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dorchester
1 review
“spring head. superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

sunday lunchtime!! what a fantastic pub. the best carvery i've ever eaten. happy smiling staff with a bounce in their step. great choice of background music and a lovely warm feeling as soon as i walked through the door.come 3 the live music starts which is a perfect time to enjoy. everything is superb.only downfall is monday morning isnt the best as you just wont want to leave.the manager jo is lovely.she introuduced herself and even joined us later in the evening for a drink.she sums what the pub is all about.happy easy going and full of warmth and happiness.
superb place and will be using as much as possible. top notch. what more do you need great pint of guiness great food sat infront of roaring fire reading daily mail with frank sinatra playing in the background. happy days!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pie night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went and sample the Springhead's pie night which is on every wednesday. I had the pork and mustard pie with mustard and I must say it was really good my one little comment was that the gravy in the pie could have done with being a little thicker but the pork just melted in your mouth and the flavor was great. My husband had the turkey in a cream sauce which was indeed really creamy and again very tasty. We both opted for the peas carrots and chips with our pies, these again were really good and the chips were very nice not at all greasy. It is safe to say we will be returning again and look forward to trying a different pie.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelam21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I came to The SPringhead a few years ago when we were last down in Weymouth and whilst the location of place has always been superb we remebered feeling a little underwhelmed. Having brought the family back down tho Weymouth last weekend we'd heard the place was under new ownership and thought we'd give the place another go. I'm SO glad we did! The whole atomophere of the pub was fantastic. We were warmly greated by the firendly barstaff and even though we hadn't booked they made space for us in the restaurant for us. The Food was superb! The carvery was amazing and my mother in law raved about the fish pie for days! I'm really glad we gave the springhead another look and wouldn't hesitate to spend another day sat by the open fire!. Well done the new owners!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northun_Munky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Proper country food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited this pub for a traditional sunday carvery, we were not dissapointed, there is nothing spared in this pub the slices of meat are thick and succulent, and theres plenty of it, all the veg ,parsnips roast etc that you can eat, there are candles on each table , soothing music in the background a wonderful country feel, friendly welcoming and just the sort of place when your belly is full that you can curl up on one of their leather sofas with a glass of wine , near and warm fire and fall asleep and not want to leave...Bliss !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jane45England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Springhead also viewed

 

Been to The Springhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing