We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landlady needs lessons in manners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manor House
Ranked #103 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked on laterooms after waiting 3 days to receive an acknowledgement of email sent direct to hotel and time was ticking. ..
Then landlady insisted i had booked twin instead of double then had to back down and apologise.
Upon arrival was met by a dog, not a problem but could be if you didnt like dogs.
Landylady was rather standoffish and just grunted and walked into a room picked up a key and said "this way".
Was left sat in the breakfast room for over 5 minutes the following morning before she just sauntered in and went "oh, did you want breakfast?" We had 2 full english breakfasts which were delivered with bright yellow oily gunk all over the egg white which tasted disgusting. My partner emptied a load of ketchup on his to try and overcome the taste but to no avail.
Once we paid we were in mid converaation with her about the room mix up when someone else arrived to check out. She just ignored us and snatched the key out of this poor old gents hand with one hand while grabbing his bill with the other and barking at him how much he owed.

Overall then, lovely house, convenient location for touring and ferry stopover, nice pub about 15 minutes walk away for evening meal but boy does the landlady need some lessons in how to treat people. Gave the impression that they are only doing it so that they can afford to stay in the family house.

Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen g, Owner at The Old Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Sincere apologies in order lessons to be learnt had no idea I came over as discourteous as that., perhaps the two night duty had some relevance! It is and always will be quite stressful meeting and greeting guests in your own home. We are striving to ensure guests have a positive enjoyable experience from greeting to departure. No excuse but perhaps we are suffering from Augustitis as are a lot of B & b owners in september I'm sure; and we both still work. We welcome feedback from all our guests experience and will learn from yours. I recall our emails and apologies replied too late i believe i did not equate your late room booking with yourselves as the same person there was no insistence that you had booked a twin room just genuine mistake. Tramp loves to greet the guests and is very responsive to our old fashioned bells, we usually make sure he is shut in our lounge. We use expensive rapeseed oil to fry the eggs which does have a high colour try very hard not to send out fried food still covered in oil. This project has been a new venture for me and Dave a dream to restore an old property, purchased in October 2009 and refurbishment took nearly three years we only opened in may last year and appreciate have a lot to learn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night arrived really late off the ferry. Very obliging despite us arriving late at night and only for one night.The whole house is very nice we were shown to two rooms (my father was with us). Both rooms very clean and tastefully decorated. Loads of tea, coffee of every kind. Lots of little extra's in the bathroom in packets nail file, cotton buds, make up remover pads nice touch.Very good value for money we felt and should be rated higher than it is. We have stayed in many places and it was very good.Slept well bed comfortable.They have rooms on ground floor which is ideal as my husband is disabled.If I had to find a fault it would be when asked if you want more toast.....don't ask how many as a general rule most places just bring another rack. But otherwise great and a nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, the rest of the family were staying in Portland, but as I had the dogs, I needed to find alternative accommodation. The room was very clean and comfortable, extras such as tea and coffee making facilities, cookies, shower caps, shampoo conditioner, shower gel and moisturiser were provided. Breakfast was outstanding, freshly squeezed juice, fruit, yoghurt, cereals and take your pick from the cooked menu. The best B and B I have stayed in for a long time. Thank you to Helen, Dave and Tramp for a wonderful stay. Loved it, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access to a stable door which give direct access to the well kept grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have visited Weymouth now for the last 21 years at least once a year sometimes twice, we have stayed with family an in b&b's but this has to be without doubt the best. We stayed in room 4 over looking the church/carpark, it was a lovely pleasant room, clean well decorated an furniture in keeping with the building. As our uncle lives in this street it is in a great location for us, you can walk out the top of the street on to the main road an you can catch the bus into Weymouth, or go the other way into Dorcester. This was part of our summer holiday an we stopped in three b&b's my husband said this was the best breakfast out of them all, silver plated cutlery, China cups plenty to chose from food wise, an the freshly squeezed orange juice was wonderful, the goodies in your room were also outstanding an top marks for the bottles of water this is the first b&b we have stopped in that has done this. We are looking at going back very soon. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This review is long overdue, 7 of us based ourselves here over Christmas and we found it to be the perfect retreat. A very high standard all round and Helen and Dave were wonderful hosts. A quality establishment all around and we have all ready recommended it to a number of our friends.
A lovely hide away albeit, well located for exploring the local coastline.
You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbellgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an absolute gem of a B&B just outside Weymouth. It's in a quiet and peaceful location in Broadwey, a few miles from Weymouth. The house has been lovingly renovated and filled with a variety of antique, some quirky, and all just perfecting fitting for the property. As soon as I walked into the hallway I felt immediately relaxed and quite frankly, fell in love with the place. I was in Room 1 (single on the ground floor) - plenty of room, ensuite large shower room, flat screen tv on the wall and a pretty window overlooking the side garden. There was also a full bathroom just across hall. The bed was without a doubt the best I've slept in at a B&B (knocks spots off some of the 4 star hotels I've stayed in). Soft, high quality bedlinen and good pillows. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, with plenty of towels and nice touches such as chocolates, biscuits, bottled water and a selection of teas and coffees. Thoughtful touches included toiletries, make up wipes, etc. Helen and Dave were charming, helpful but never intrusive. There is a welcoming drawing room with bookcases full of interesting books and local interest information, as well as a little "snug" with a comfy couch and many items of interest. The breakfast was superb - from the crisp white tableclothes, silver plated cutlery, and the little vases full of fresh sweetpeas from the garden to the wide choice of local products and ingredients. Fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, locally made apple juice, yoghurts, local butter, and a great English breakfast - with alternatives available for those who fancied something lighter. Talk about a great start to your day! I cannot rate The Old Manor House highly enough ... I loved it here and can't wait to go back. oh, and it's excellent value for money too. Thank you Helen and Dave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayandMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have to say, this is just the most lovely B and B one can come across. It's just outside of Weymouth, but the train is 10min walk away, and an 8 min train trip to Weymouth. Stunning walks and just very tranquil. Breakfast and service was 10/10. Room, was just perfect, with added luxury of lovely cotton sheets! And perfect for dogs too. We just can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
430 reviews
4.1 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#12 of 166 in Weymouth
247 reviews
2.8 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#28 of 166 in Weymouth
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
5.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manor House

Address: Old Manor House Mill Street, Weymouth DT3 5DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $36 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manor House is a Grade II listed early victorian property situated in an unspoilt country setting close to the entrancing village of Upwey on the outskirts of Weymouth. There is ample parking, ground floor rooms with level access and wet room type bathroom.We welcome walkers/cyclists/climbers and have a drying room which is also suitable for storing cycles. A large family suite and we accept children all ages; use of lounge with wifi internet access,a decking and patio area for guests use, and pets accepted. There are some local pubs within mile or so that all serve excellent food.We welcome short one night stays or longer and are open all year round. We are situated approx 2 miles from Weymouth town centre and about 5 miles from Dorchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Old Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manor House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing