We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service couldn't be better - but noisy beyond belief!”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service couldn't be better - but noisy beyond belief!”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Although from the outside this hotel looks lovely and the staff are friendly and helpful, if you want a quiet weekend out of season then this is not the hotel for you! Because the building has listed building status, there is no double glazing or any form of sound insulation. Normally this would not be a real issue but unfortunately there is a pub nearby which plays very loud music very late on Friday and Saturday nights right near the rear of the Rex. In addition, the narrow road running along the back of the building not only seems to be a popular route for all of the drunken revellers who seem to think they can only be heard if they shout and shriek very loudly at 2,3,4 & 5am, but is also a very busy through road for traffic all through the night. Finally, a special message to the guy shouting to Joe on his mobile at 4.00am on Saturday - WE ALL HEARD YOU EVEN IF JOE DIDN'T!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidgeQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    164
    68
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
204
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This was our second time at the Hotel Rex after going on our own last year, this year we returned with our parents and once again the stay was lovely.
The staff are exceptional. The same members as last year and just as happy, friendly, helpful and hard working as before.
The rooms are fairly basic, but very clean and comfortable. The hotels location is brilliant for the promenade and the harbour side.
This year we had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant on two nights of our stay and the food was excellent, with very friendly service.
Our parents had a very enjoyable time, so come on your 40 something’s, get your mums and dads down to visit a traditional British sea-side resort.
The Forte is well worth a visit.
We will definitely be going back to Weymouth in the future and the Hotel Rex will be the hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave&Caz43-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

this was our second stay at The Rex this year and once again we had an exellent time. On both occasions we had sea facing rooms which were spacious and spotless. The staff were 1st class and the meals were v good. The hotel is welcoming and friendly and you certainly were made to feel at home . Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were great . Well worth a visit .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

After staying a weekend at the Hotel Rex i thought i had to let everyone kn ow that despite some negative comments this really is a great place to stay, the room was a little small but very clean and excellent shower, the Staff werer excellent and the Food was tops to, location was the best and cannot be beaten , the only small issue was parking however not really the Hotels problem.

All i can say is i would definately go agiain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We paid 126 GBP for a saturday night, which compared to discounted rates we pay in London, there the similarity ends. The room stank of smoke even though it has been quite some time since you could smoke in a UK hotel. It was poorly decorated although the furniture was of a high quality, (much like sprinkling glitter on dogmess).The walls were cheap partion walls with no sound proofing so we could hear our neighbours and their T.V. at 6.30 in the morning. The toileteries and complimentaries were low quality unbranded, as were all the items at breakfast. Full English breakfast was poor quality, sausages were cheap and nasty anaemic specimens. Need I go on? Yes! When checking out, the receptionist was very professional, and ready to offer a discount, but the duty manager was less than helpful offering no resolution except to enquire why we hadn't pointed out our concerns earlier? If anyone really needs to stay in Weymouth, don't use the REX unless you can get it for 60 - 70 GBP and don't get a sea facing room as you won't get any sleep as it's noisier than central London due to parties of loud drunks screaming their heads off right up until 5.30 a.m. and then the sweepers and beach ploughs are out. Enough said.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nostrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We chose the Rex Hotel on Weymouth's seafront as it had a lift
and we were taking my elderly mother who has mobility problems. We arrived too early to check-in but asked about getting a drink and perhaps a sandwich at the bar but the bar was closed ( this was after 12.00p.m. ) so we went elsewhere.
When we did finally check-in we were dealt with in an efficient and friendly way. We had booked 2 sea-view rooms paying over £100 per night for bed and breakfast. Our room was adequate and clean but I do get the feeling that these seaside hotels need to drag themselves into the 21st century.It was plain old-fashioned with a wooden wardrobe ( only 8 coathangers between the 2 of us) a large, old-fashioned TV and one small glass shelf in the bathroom already filled with complimentary toiletries so there was nowhere to put our stuff.
We liked : the position of the hotel - close to all amenities, the friendliness of the staff, the lounge areas, breakfasts weren't bad.
We didn't like - the outdated rooms, thin towels, old sash windows - double-glazing badly needed.

Helpful?
Thank Lupin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

hotel comfortable, older people need to use the lift as the stairs arent the best to negotiate. however the staff are friendly and helpful. food was good, and there was a pleasant atmosphere. hotel set in a prime position. would visit again.

c & j...stratford upon avon

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineguest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing