We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel in perfect location, very friendly and helpful staff 5*”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very nice hotel in perfect location, I was holidaying with my disabled brother and we found the all the staff very helpful and very friendly nothing was to much trouble and they made our holiday perfect . Would definitely recommend to all simply the best, will definitely return. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: Definitely room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 500 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

stayed at the rex last weekend for three days .The hotel has a nice position on the sea front. We found the staff very helpful, the hotel is quite near to the ferry terminal. Our room was adequate it was always kept very clean, towels changed every day.
The problem for us was that our room overlooked the pub at the rear of the hotel, where clients gathered outside to smoke, argue and shout until the early hours.
It is a good basic hotel with noisy neighbours

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taffieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Felt like stepping back in time walking in. In a good way. Old style traditional place. Lovely warm welcome. Room perfectly adequate, nothing amazing but great value. Far from brand new bathroom but spotless and perfectly functional.

Really friendly staff, proper bar as well.

Breakfast really good, proper sausages and tasty black pudding.

Would happily return

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank golden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights for the Seafood Festival. Very friendly, relaxing and what an excellent location. The only negative thing we would like to say is that a table for two in the restaurant for breakfast really isn't big enough with all the plates, cups, saucers, tea and coffee pots etc., plus we were put in a cubby hole, we felt like we were in the naughty corner, when there were bigger tables available. On the first morning we were seated at at a table for four which was perfect. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Slightly dated, but a decent hotel and the staff were fantastic - helpful and friendly. Food from the restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner and the hotel is in a great location right on the sea front.

Worth arranging a spot in their garage for parking if you can. Beds were a little hard and there was a fair amount of noise from the corridors, but that's the case in most hotels, so can't complain!

A nice friendly place to visit with staff who were very accommodating to our needs.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Tangledfeet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Have just spend a lovely weekend in Weymouth staying at Hotel Rex, no complaints from us. The staff were friendly, rooms very comfortable & great sea view from room 29. Breakfast was lovely. We paid £8 per day for garage parking which was well worth the money

Room Tip: seaview room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 408ALEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the beach in one direction and the harbour in the other. Room was clean and good size. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. Particular mention for the young guy serving at breakfast who was very efficient and helpful. The hotel is slightly old fashioned but most are in Weymouth. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seventyseven78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,116 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $89 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing