We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time in weymouth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first time in weymouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we had driven 6 hours and it was a very cold day the wind was blowing a gale but we were greeted by two lovely young ladies on recepetion and nothing was a problem we were given a private parking spot which was a great help as it was very busy on the seafront we had what was classed as the honey moon suite very roomy but very cold so they brought us 2 heaters which helped bar staff friendly good breakfast i would stay there again but only in the suite as the other rooms we looked at were very basic and dated we are going back to weymouth in july unfortunatly the suite is booked so we are looking for another hotel on the seafront

Room Tip: front honey moonsuite very comfortable and in the summer with the two large windows it must be a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabasford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    159
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
61
200
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant position on the seafront. However parking might be a problem but a short walk will access public carparks - we were on a coach trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit quirky, some sloping floors and odd shapes, but having been built in 1795 this is not surprising. They very clean and relatively modern. There is a lift to all floors. The food was excellent with a good menu choice. Drinks were about average bar prices.
This hotel makes a good base for exploring the superb, surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor for excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanClematis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had just driven for over 3 hours on totally unfamiliar roads and was greeted by a rude, sarcastic and frosty receptionist who was 'busy' in an empty bar and told me I would "have to wait a few minutes". When she decided to deal with my arrival she continued to be unpleasant and unhelpful - her priority being to demand the £20 deposit for my car park permit. Whilst her persona changed soon after into 'Mrs sweetness and light', I couldn't accept any pleasantries from her as there was no excuse for the 'greeting' I received. This was compounded by my over-hearing a conversation between her and another member of staff about me and my husband. They assumed we had both gone up the stairs but I hadn't and was actually browsing the leaflets and heard what they said. Totally unprofessional and RUDE!
That said, I have no further complaints, though I hope the manager attends to my feedback here as it could well lose him custom in the future. Apart from this member of staff and the one who made comments about my husband, I have no other major negatives. Unfortunately, the arrival experience tainted our overall enjoyment of this hotel and we didn't feel as relaxed as we should have.
The room was slightly small, but very clean. No wifi in rooms (as advertised) but it worked OK downstairs. Breakfast was extremely good and the staff in the dining room were excellent - courteous and efficient.
The hotel is right on the 'front' and I had no problems getting a parking space but as other reviewers have said - this won't be the case in future weekends and throughout summer.

Room Tip: floor boards are a bit creaky so if this bothers you go for a third floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Rex is in a prime location for all the shops, bars, restaurants, and Harbour. The staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast was good as was the dinner we had on Sunday evening, by far the best meal the whole weekend. We did not use the car the whole time we were there as the local bus service was brilliant (and on the door step). I would have no hesitation in returning to Hotel Rex. See you soon!!!!

Room Tip: We had a sea view on the second floor, which was good to watch the world go by from a distance!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoBri4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

An excellent location though parking is a nightmare so opted for Private secure parking which was adequate but only 4 spaces and entry was a nightmare Staff were very good and very friendly Room had a fantastic sea view but was a little on the small side as was the shower Food left a lot to be desired and put us off having a second dinner in the hotel The steak was so tough it was impossible to eat When the waiter was told he simply said that he would pass it on to the chef. Most of steak was returned uneaten as it couldn't be cut. Breakfast was pretty basic but adequate though the food was cold which is not desirable for a hot full English We enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Sea view rooms provide an excellent view though they are confined
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed two nights mon-tues,staff good fixed us up with restaurant (sea food) ,the hotel offers secure parking ,not on site.street parking is impossible in summer,Breakfast was one of the best we have had in many a hotel stay.

Room Tip: room 3 large,room 1 street light on lights up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third trip to Weymouth and Hotel Rex was by far the best we have stayed at, helpful friendly staff ( what a change that makes ) rooms were clean and very comfortable and the full english breakfast, that was freshly cooked, was enjoyed by all.
A special thanks to the night porter who allowed 15 golfers to enjoy late night drinks in the Hotel bar.
Our grateful thanks to all the staff of the Hotel for helping to make our trip the best yet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank les b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing