We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our 4 day stay was excellent. All staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The food was excellent and the waiters and bar staff were fantastic. The hotel is situated at the end of the Esplanade within easy walking distance to the harbour, shops etc. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must - we had a family room at the top and it was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tots489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 495 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went to The Hotel Rex for a dinner for two. We had previously asked to see the restaurant but were told we couldn't as there was a rush on. We were seated in the bar and gave our order, after 15 minutes we were told that they did not have one of the mains we had ordered. We waited another 30 minutes. By the time we were taken down to the basement restaurant, we understood why we were not seated in the restaurant. It was deserted and when our starters came the food was terrible so we decided to cancel our mains. There was no apology or any discount and we left after having wasted 1 hour. It seemed that they had bussed in the chef although we wished they hadn't bothered!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank rafik129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I rang the Rex after seeing that it was rated as the number one hotel in Weymouth on Trip Advisor. The chap I spoke to could not have been more helpful and friendly and I arranged for a double room with a sea view at £100 for one night including full English breakfast. There was an additional charge of £5 for the parking which would entail a 5 minute walk.

Sadly that’s where the good bit ends and the moans begin. For £100 we have certain (hopefully not unreasonable) expectations.

The only way to describe the bedroom is depressing. It was very 80’s and claustrophobic. The ceilings were high and because it had no picture rail they really seemed like prison walls, which was apt as the only faded picture in the room was screwed to the wall. The television was tiny and the furniture dated which with the size of the room and drab colour of the walls meant that we spent the least amount of time in there.
The curtains were inside the alcove and so had no chance of covering the whole window. They were thin and there was no black out curtain or shutter behind them. Not great for a sunny morning, just as well it wasn’t June.
Then there was the bed. A small double which creaked and groaned every time one of us moved was not conducive to a restful night’s sleep.
The bathroom was fine with all the usual soap/shampoo etc and there was plenty of hot water. The room itself was clean and the sheets seemed fresh.

Had we not already paid a £40 non-refundable deposit we would have taken our chances on finding somewhere else but it was only for one night.

The two female receptionists hardly gave us the time of day which I found surprising as when I rang to book the room the chap couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly. Normally when we stay somewhere we are asked if everything was okay when checking out. Unfortunately we were not asked and so they will be able to read our feedback on here.

We couldn’t face the breakfast so cannot comment.

Was it worth £100? Not in our opinion. It is such a shame as it has so much potential, it is a lovely building and is in a great location.

Would we go back? Definitely not.
Would we recommend it? Unfortunately not.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzy1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Ideally situated and convinient to all amenities, the Hotel Rex was a superb place to stay. The staff all very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.A good choice of menu for both breakfast and evening meal, the food was cooked to perfection. Our room was spacious clean and very comfortable with excellent en-suite facilities. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomcruise186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our 4 day stay, was superb! Hotel was at the end of the Esplanade, well positioned from the hussle and bussle!! From the value for money, location, proximity to all amenities and the train station, comfort, the dining experience was excellent (wonderful choices on the menu and Al aCarte) and the cuisine and service outstanding. I must however, at this point make special mention of the restuarant manager, Keith. His ability to make a dining experience superb, was spot-on! All the diningroom staff and front desk were efficient and willing to assist at all times. We will certainly be returning to the Hotel Rex with our family soon. We can HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone going to Weymouth.
Col and Jeff, Weybridge in Surrey

Room Tip: Second or 3rd floor rooms for great views along the beach and coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umhlangababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Rex and all of our party of 47 players and wives were of the same opinion that it was one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The Staff from The Manager to the kitchen Porter were all so friendly and so effecient that it made our stay such a pleasure. I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to any party or individual looking for a very pleasant stay in Weymouth. Food---excellent. Bedrooms --excellent. Staff---The best . What more can I say??

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great outlook For luxury try room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikeredruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a great welcome, the staff were just so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was cooked to perfection and there was an excellent choice. Thank you all for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMacCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.0 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,113 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $88 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing