We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experiance at Hotel Rembrandt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
ross on wye England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great experiance at Hotel Rembrandt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Enjoyed a very nice stay at Rembrant. Nice clean Hotel, nice rooms, helpfull staff, good Carvery and a great breakfast (scrambled egg not to be missed -best that I have ever tasted).
Nice pool. Hotel is in a good location, not far from the beach and local pubs. Bus stop outside runs every 10/15 minutes to central Weymouth and the old harbour or Dorcester town. Plenty of free parking for guests at Hotel .
Stayed in room at back of hotel, very quite but view from window was not great. Not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertjrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    336
    144
    67
    27
See reviews for
233
385
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

my wife and I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times and it just gets better! our latest visit was over the Christmas break and it was excellent-good food-comfy rooms and lots of friendly staff at all times-they did not cut staff levels at all

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We recently had a one night overnight stay in this hotel.It was a weekday stay and we were given a room on the ground floor.Overall I think it fair to say that the hotel barely makes the grade and is a little disappointing.It seems to have a broad client base with business and contractor clients very evident as weekday guests.
In fairness the hotel does enjoy some good points.It has a good location to the seafront and town centre a nice stroll in the summer but not winter friendly! The car parking is good and secure.The bedrooms are well appointed and the hotel enjoys a good standard of cleanliness albeit that the decor in some of the communal areas is looking rather tired and in need of a makeover.The staff appeared to be both friendly and helpful.The Buffet Breakfast was of good quality and provided plenty of choice.The hotel provides complimentary use of its Spa facilities and enjoys free Wi Fi access.So a number of plus points but I'm afraid some negatives too!
In my opinion the hotel operates a somewhat high tariff structure both for its Bar prices and Dinning Menu Options outside of its Carvery Choice.It does therefore seem to be more geared perhaps to Company Expense Account clients as opposed to the holidaymaker or casual guest who are somewhat of a captive audience.
My biggest criticism by far however was the very poor sleep quality which the hotel provided in our case.We were in a ground floor room with one room above.There was little insulation from room noise from above with the continuous creaking of floor boards flushing of toilets even to the extent that one could hear ongoing conversation!This was added to by corridor noise from 6am onwards as early risers made their way on,probably business clients or contractors etc off to work.So in short unless you are lucky in room allocation this hotel is probably not one for a good nights sleep!
In conclusion therefore I think it fair to say that the Hotel Rembrandt fell below expectation and was somewhat disappointing.Whilst it does have its good features it does implement a comparitively high price structure for a product which it does struggle to deliver.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and request first floor location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed for three nights with my boyfriend in September 2011.

When we arrived at the hotel, I was disappointed to see its on a main road and a walk from the beach. The hotel building is quite new, but its interior decor is a rather dated 90s style, it reminded me of a leisure centre.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and overlooking the carpark. We were also situated right above the store for the linen trolleys and were woken early each day by the staff pushing the metal trolleys over the tarmac which was really noisy. I wanted to ask the staff at the desk about keeping the noise down but each time I went to ask about it, they were busy with other guests.
The room was large, contained a double and a single bed. I slept in the single as the double wasnt big enough for two people (in my opinion).
The bathroom was a good size and the shower had the highest hot water pressure i have ever experienced.
We didnt use the pool, even though this was the main reason I booked the hotel initially.
The restaurant is in the middle of the building, with few windows to the outside, but the one breakfast we ate was really good.

All in all, the hotel was ok as a base for exploring the local area, but I think in heinsight I'd rather have booked a b&b on the sea front, to be closer to the town and benefit from a sea view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cee021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here several times. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Staff are pleasant and helpful.
Pool and spa excellent. Breakfast excellent. Especially good value when there's a special
offer. Free wifi access.Get on their email list for updates.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. They do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefertari123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting friends in Weymouth which means we didn't try all the facilities this hotel has to offer. We were delighted with our room which we thought was at a very high standard for a 3-star hotel. The room was large, recently refurbished with a nice big double bed. The bathroom was also new and very nicely equipped. Complimentary tea, coffee, and bottled water were provided. The room was spotlessly clean.

The rest of the hotel does indeed have a slightly dated feel and some areas - although kept very clean - are really in need of refurbishment. We had breakfast in the main restaurant which is one of those areas that could do with some attention. It had the ambience of a motorway service area. We were a bit late to breakfast and found some of the hot food had probably been there since 7:30AM and become inedible. That which was edible was fine.

Hotel staff were genuinely friendly and helpful.

Overall, not too bad for 3-star.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I paid £75 from laterooms. The staff were helpful. I asked for a quiet room and got 243, which was probably their quietest room, at the top and out of the way. The room was big, but the bed wasn't. Although it supposed to be a double I wouldn't have liked to share it with anyone. The room I had a big shower, but no bath. The free WiFi had a good connection.

The gym was poor, low ceiling, no free weights, some weight machines and aerobic machines. The sauna wasn't working and the stream room wasn't hot. Jacuzzi was hot and powerful but only half filled with water. Pool was OK.

Breakfast had other drinks but no orange juice (looked like they had run out at 7am). It all tasted OK.

I stayed there because I had an event the following day there and it had a gym. Next time I think I'll try somewhere else and run along the front and take a kettle bell.

Too many doors... It has a tired 1960's feel to it. The only thing updated was they put more doors in to meet fire regulations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlyderFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoMenin, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear GlyderFawr,

Thank you for your review.

The Hotel Rembrandt in Weymouth is made up by a mix of a purpose built and converted buildings; the vast majority of our bedrooms have been renovated in the last 6 years.

Though our gym is small when compared to one found in a national chain health club, it is very much enjoyed and well used by club members and it is completely free to all hotel guests, like the indoor heated pool, the steam room and the sauna.

The leisure club is open 365 days a year, including Christmas Day; the sauna was under repair on the day in question; it is now open and working beautifully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Address: 12-18 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt is a real Weymouth wonder. It's the perfect place to base your visit to the beautiful and historic Dorset World Heritage Coast, and any outing in this stunning part of England is all the more enjoyable when you know you'll be returning.Located just a short stroll away from the Weymouth Esplanade and beautiful sandy beach, and the town centre, the hotel is close to a number of tourist attractions. The picture perfect country towns and villages are nearby waiting for you to explore too, so dont forget the camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Weymouth
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing