We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review but non of it was the hotels fault !”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We have just had a 2 night stay at the Crown Hotel, we needed to travel to jersey so with flight disruptions we ended up getting the ferry !

So after a 8 hour drive on a wednesday , we arrived at the crown (eventually as we could not find it nor could sat nav) lots of 1 way streets & diversions but thats not the hotels fault.
The parking at the hotel is limited to about 8 cars in a secure garage at the rear of the hotel (this is very good)

The staff are very friendly & willing to help you with what you need.

Now i must explain that I am a fussy customer, so for the money we paid for the room £45 each for 2 seperate rooms I was more than happy.

It was very clean & the bed was nice & comfy, I had a second floor room which was nice with a refitted bathroom. On wednesday night I had a good night sleep & a very nice breakfast in the morning.

We got the ferry to jersey thursday morning & returned on friday night at 11pm to the crown hotel.

The hotel unfortunatley is situated near many busy bars & clubs. I had a room overlooking a side street. I really struggled to get to sleep due to the ammount of complete drunken retards shouting & screaming in the side street till all hours of the morning, Thumping music could also be heard. Luckily I found some ear plugs in my work stuff at 3 am.

(This is not a reflection on the quality of the hotel or the staff)

I would stay here from sunday to thursday no problem at all, friday, saturday night not for me. I am very tired today after an 8 hour drive home after 3 hours sleep..

To sum up.

Great Staff
Good location for the ferry
Nice breakfast
Clean Comfortable rooms

Avoid on a friday & sat night if you want to sleep or ask for a room without a street view

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 509 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

A group of 38 people experienced a first time at the Crown Hotel, with its ideal location to all amenities, shop's bar's and restaurant's with a good choice of things to do day and night.
The hotel itself is very pleasant the rooms are clean and comfortable, fresh towels each day, hairdryer and tea/coffee available in each room,
The food choice for breakfast and evening meal was excellent, a good menu choice and plenty, with friendly staff in nice surroundings. We found all the staff helpful and pleasant nothing was too much trouble.
Our group is looking forward to another holiday at The Crown next year and I am sure that we will enjoy it just the same.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandoraEastMids_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Our group of 40 visited for the second time and enjoyed the 'Mock Cruise' in March.
The check-in was quick and easy and the Reception staff were friendly and efficient.
The rooms were clean and well furnished. Comfortable beds and tea & coffee facilities.

Meals were waitress served and any request for alternative dishes satisfied. Food was well cooked and presented. Gluten free & dairy free diet was well catered for without fuss. Bar open for food at lunchtime. Meals were well cooked & inexpensive. Efficient Staff.

Evening entertainment on two evenings was excellent the other two could have been better.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Shops are across the road and beach, habour and bus stops are all within a few minutes walk from the hotel on level ground.

We look forward to visiting the Crown again, next time for a Turkey & Tinsel break.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NidNid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

When choosing a hotel that is close to the town centre and all the amenities Weymouth has to offer, the beach, shops and harbour, the ideal choice seems to be the ideally located Crown, rising elegantly by the beautiful town bridge and Brewers Quay.
However after only one night there, I fervently wished to have reconsidered proximity as priority.

Upon entering the hotel you could not fail to be overwhelmed by its lifelessness, as a gloomy atmosphere descended like a cloud in the silent corridors, papered and painted carelessly several decades ago. The frailer guests snoozed quietly in the endless rows of care home styled covered armchairs that comprised the residents lounge, others sat slumped silently in the bar while the staff tiptoed disapprovingly around the creaking wooden floors.

The rooms varied in size considerably as we had 2 room bookings so were able to compare. One was obviously modelled on the requirements of the average rabbit, but ours was spacious. Again everything lacked in fundamental modernisation and decor, but we looked out to the front of the hotel over the main street of the town, rather than the other room which was surrounded by brick walls and other bedrooms. Tea and coffee facilities, hot showers and ample storage were offered on the positive side, but the antiquated miniture television, where we had to hold the ariel in position just to get a crackling BBC1 picture, the downside.

I cannot truly understand how anyone could have slept through on a Saturday night ! Binge and yob culture at its finest, we were awoken every half an hour by the sounds of wailing sirens, the shattering of bottles, the hysteria of partially clad teenage girls brawling in the street below, until dawn when the seagulls took over the drunken din and the council started drilling and hammering a nearby road. Fortunately, the room had extra pillows, as these were required to firmly clamp over both ears for the duration of the night to avoid any long lasting hearing damage.

With breakfast offered in the rate, we looked forward to a hearty cooked affair and a choice of continental food and drink. What a disappointment ! Cold, undercooked and meagre, the cooked breakfast was almost inedible. The fried eggs had been left out so long we thought they were rubber decorations, the bacon undercooked and saltier than the harbour seawater and the portion sizes unacceptably small. My husband ordered cereal in an attempt to find something edible from the menu but was presented with a teacup sized heap of withered flakes.

The hotel needs to modernise and improve its standards of service and quality of food. I wouldn't say it's great value for money, as it probably would have been quieter sleeping on the beach, which would have cost nothing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jumbostella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay here staff were all very good entertainment very good food very good rooms brilliant nothing but good things to say about our 4 day stay throughly enjoyed every thing no complaints thank you to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zigthusimcru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night only on a Saturday, this was the only hotel in Weymouth so we were lucky to get 2 rooms, were a bit worried as only rated 2star and were surprised how good it was. Clean room with all facilities expected, the only thing was the club near the back of hotel very noisy so a front room is better. Great location near the harbour. Breakfast not so good but OK

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubydogUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Recently stayed here for one night (booked fairly last minute and most other hotels, B&Bs etc were booked) Tip book on late rooms - its cheaper than booking direct with hotel (?) Location is very good although very noisy at night - bar come night club opposite. Large, very clean hotel and very good staff. We booked a car parking space at the same time as booking our rooms - in a lock up garage at the back of the hotel, would only fit 6-8 cars depending on size. We left our car in this garage all the following day (left about 4ish) which was very helpful and accomodating of the hotel. Breakfast was ok - we werent expecting much to be honest having read previous reviews. One room at the front of the hotel had a lovely view and on the face of it a lovely shower although it turned out to be very poor ie hardly any water coming out. Other room at the back of the hotel with not much of a view, adequate shower and bath. All in all would stay here for a few nights again and recommend it. Oh and great fish and chips in restaurant opposite!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank VickyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
506 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
21 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $79 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing