We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfortable hotel”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a nice friendly hotel in a good location. Our first impression was the warm welcome we had from the receptionist, with whom we had a pleasant chat. The other staff members we encountered were also friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and comfortable and we had a quiet night. The view from the window was not exactly scenic and there was no shampoo supplied in the bathroom (I hadn't brought my own), but for a 2-star hotel I thought it was pretty good value. Can't comment on the food as we stayed only one night and didn't eat in the restaurant, and we skipped breakfast as we had to leave early - unfortunately breakfast is only from 8.30 to 9.30 which is not great for early birds, but they did offer tea, toast and cereal earlier if we wanted it. Anyway, all in all would definitely recommend the Crown as good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia70London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here last month we a couple of friends, the hotel was in a great location, close to the beach, and close to the town centre. The hotel was very clean and all staff were most Friendly. The food and choice available was excellent. We would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

On the day of arrival the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and were the same in the morning.
The hotel was clean and tidy but is in need of a repaint and modernising soon if is to stay ahead.
The parking was only 3 quid BUT, it involved a tiny alley way, a free for all garage and having to leave your keys behind the front desk to allow staff to move your car! None of which was mentioned until after parking. I decided that the nearby multi storey with video cameras at £10 for 24 hours far more appealling.
The hotel is situated perfectly and was everything you would expect for £50ish a night.
We woke up late which meant no breakfast so just left.
Would i stay again? Not sure, would need to research others in area first

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TomSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just got back from a 10 day stay at the Crown hotel. We have stayed at the Crown many times in the last 7 or 8 years. Good central position for the beach, marina and shops. Management and staff always welcoming and friendly, very clean due to great housekeeping, fast friendly service in the restaurant. Friendly helpful reception and Bar staff. Good menu choices with flexible times. Entertainment every night when the hotel is full. Lovely quiet lounge to sit and read or just relax, overlooking the Harbour bridge. Parking available for £3 per night and room to charge my mobility scooter. Very disabled friendly benefiting from a lift to all floors. The only downside is the noise from a nearby Nightclub, although the music has been toned down quite considerably in the past few years, the revellers do not have a volume button.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

allthough this hotel is a bit dated its clean comfortable and so freindly its perfectly situated for town and beach and harbour . We had breakfast and evening meal food was great waiter so helpfull and jolly .Some evenings there is entertainment laid on in the ball room .They had a singer while we were there he was very good .All in all its a great place to stay in weymouth we loved it there . rooms are clean and cumfy

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

One night B&B in double en suite room for £50.40. This hotel is at the end of a refurbishment and did not cause any problems. Location is great for the ferry, shopping, nightlife, restaurants etc, secure parking on a first come first served basis + £3 per night. Breakfast normally starts at 8:30am a cooked breakfast is available from 7:30am if requested. (to catch an early ferry) Breakfast was great, cooked to order. Recommended, we will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elec-eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

First up - central - dead central, right next to the charming main bridge near the Marina.
Next - what a building! This thing goes back to the C16th in places and is then a palimpsest of succeeding centuries, with bits which are Georgian, Victorian, early C20th and, of course, contemporary additions. The overall effect is relaxed elegance - a nice quiet, very welcoming place to enter as you come in from the high street.
No, it's not a minimum-cost aluminium and breeze-block corporate erection in which demolition was part of the design costings. It's a real building with heart, space and charm. It will be there long after the cheaply built Businessman-hutches have been replaced as 'Outdated facilities'.
Ahhh - the welcome.
Most hotels are now accountancy made manifest by terrifying chains in which every aspect has been paired down to provide a surface 'quality hotel experience' at maximum cost to you and minimum effort by the company. Here, though the price is surprisingly reasonable, everything seems to be geared to the guest (Not "Customer") and the people who work here are plainly more happy and secure in their jobs than most in the "Hospitality business".
I get the impression this place is a central and valued part of the local economy and culture and - isn't that what we WANT for our towns and cities? Places which actually ARE what they say they are?
Everyone we met - from the man who took some personal pride in parking our car in their 1920's garage, to the wonderfully practical and helpful receptionists, to the really charming and FUNNY cleaners to the witty and helpful restaurant staff - were genuinely engaged in working WITH us and helping us have a good time. Nothing felt 'programmed' but everything felt as if they simply wanted to help. This was a massive relief from the usual cold efficiency and mock-deference of to many corporate hotels.
But they ARE efficient - ohhhhyes. It just happens to feel more like a personal favour than a Program.
If you want to go somewhere where the staff are in fear of you and where you feel no-one will notice if you are alive or dead - avoid this hotel. It's too warm, human and genuine a place for your busy, empty, corporate liefestyle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SebastianM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,115 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing