We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed one night (thank goodness) asked for a quiet room at the back knowing the front overlooked the street, we were given an room with noe double glazing and the air conditioner?boiler whatever it was , was right outside our window, thaat we could cope with, but the landing we were on seem to be full of young people who spent a lot of time calling to each other and doors were slamming most of the time , we phoned the eporter who did his best but within a few minutes it started again, in the end my husband had to have words with them, we certainly we not recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 505 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We travelled to Weymouth with Barfordian coaches and on arrival were greeted by the Manager of the hotel. The outside and ground floor reception and bar were rather shabby and dated but we were very impressed by the efficiency of staff and speed of booking us in. Cases were quickly taken to our rooms for us by the 'case boys'. Our room was probably the best in the hotel occupying a corrner area with a huge bow window overlooking the bridge and harbour. It was extremely spacous and spotlessly clean. A comfy bed and large bathroom made our stay most enjoyable. On going down to the bar for a welcome coffee the bar staff were friendly and made us feel at home straight away. The food was superb with a good choice every day. The waitressing staff were so efficient and friendly it made mealtimes a real pleasure. Nothing was too much trouble and they accomodated my husband's 'dairy free' diet without fuss. When we left we forgot to check the dressing table drawer and left behind a couple of electric chargers and a camera. When we rang up the next day we were told that they had already packed them up and sent them recorded delivery. We received them the next day and the hotel said there was no charge. Amazing service. A lick of paint downstairs would bring it up to a good 3 star but I have to say some 4 star hotels could learn from this friendly hotel especially in the customer care department.

Room Tip: Room 69 a corner room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aljenBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Value for money central hotel. Its not the most modern and it is noisy at weekends ( from surrounding pubs) but for the money and located in such a central area how can anyone complain. The average age of guests is high so I guess they dont like the noise.

The staff were friendly it was clean it was central so all fine.

I have rated hotels which cost nearly 10 times as much no higher. If you want someshere clean central and value for money you wont beat this place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at The Crown a number of times this year with varying numbers of colleagues. The bulk of it was three weeks during the Olympics. The hotel is very central and suffers from a very loud nightclub in rooms at the front and loud karoake from rooms at the side and rear. That said the hotel was clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. The chef and waiting staff were happy to pander to our sometimes slightly fussy staff and we were never told no. Throughout the hotel my colleagues found all the staff to be extremely welcoming and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble, from reception, office, bar, kitchens, waiting through to housekeeping (it's amazing what dark Thorntons can arrange). The staff definately lift it well above its 2 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recommended - Nice room, good food, very friendly staff, excellent service, nothing was too much trouble - just ask for a room at the back of the hotel,if its a weekend stay ! Right in the centre of Weymouth, and very close to harbour, marina etc - ideal for walking and exploring. Money invested in town for Olympics well spent.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed from the 7th till the 9th Sept ,Cannot fault the Service,the food,or the condition of the room,no 52, But the noise that came from outside was really bad on Friday night,side street was below the room window,and the shouting that came from the street was still going till around 3am, would definately stay there again but not at the left hand side of the Hotel

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the left hand side, looking at the front of the Hotel,very noisy Street pub just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haydn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is a double-edged sword as it is very central to the shopping streets and main bars like Wetherspoons, and right by the taxi rank, This is fantastic if you are on a night out but disastrous if you are a light sleeper on a Friday or Saturday as Weymouth town centre is very lively and the utter chaos on the street goes on till 5.30am. In the Summer you will need your window open as there is no air-con, so you will face the music If your room faces onto St. Thomas St or Lower St. Edmund St.

Having got about 3 hours of sleep I was looking forward to a nice breakfast but that was below par compared to similarly priced B&Bs in the area. The cooked breakfast arrived quickly and was simple and tasted just adequate.

The decor of the hotel is very dated, e.g. the carpet very tatty in the corridor and the light shades look terribly old and dirty. The room itself was fine, the bed comfortable and bathroom facilities a bit tired but functional.

I think in general this hotel is very popular with the older generation (who sleep very soundly) and appreciate the convenience of the location.

Room Tip: On weekends avoid rooms facing onto St. Thomas St or Lower St. Edmund St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzzer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
495 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,113 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing