We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Sleep”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I arrived here and had difficulty in finding the hotels car park, these are in fact 2 garages at the rear with electric shutters. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and check in was very easy. Due to the fact we had parked in the garage area keys to our vehicle had to be left at reception. This parking area is quite secure.
My room was on the 3rd floor which was a twin room. Tea and coffee was to hand but no complimentary biscuits. I guess this is due to its 2 star rating. The beds were pushed together but there wasnt a lot of space in the room. There was plenty of draw and wardrobe space and there was a hair dryer in one of the draws but no iron and ironing board. The window faced onto a side street and was an old wooden sash window which didnt keep out any noise from the street below.
The bathroom was small and there was a shower over the bath. Complimentary soap was on the sink and bath but no gels or other additional items were there. Again i suppose this down to the rating of the hotel. The shower didnt run very strong and it took quite a while for me to wet. Having used my own shower gel it also took time to remove the suds due to poor jet of water emitting from it. The towels were reasonably fluffy.
The Hotel is situated right on the edge of the harbour and town centre. Wetherspoons and Yates are 20 yards away to the left of the hotel as you exit and lots of other bars and shops are close to hand. The beachfront is about 5 to 10 minutes walk.
Now to the sleep or lack of it. The bed wasnt the most comfortable but it was the noise from the revellers leaving the pubs in the early hours which the sash window didnt prevent from coming in even after having closed it. Then at just after 5 the delivery lorries turned up and this agian was very noisy. The wind also caused the window to rattle most of the night and i had to shove clothing in it to prevent this. Double glazing would be a bonus.
Breakfast was waiter/ress service which was welcoming and tea and coffee/juice etc was brought to your table. You chose from the menu of what hot food you wanted and again this was brought to your table with toast.
Other rooms in the hotel may be different to the one i had and i can only comment on my sleep quality and of the room i stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay if you're a couple visiting for a weekend. Clean rooms and a good price. I'd recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

One little gripe is the location, which wasn't quite what we were looking for but I guess that's my fault for not researching properly! Overall, a good place. We were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

great rooms comfy beds ,modern clean ,only let down hallways need attension apart from that food & staff great .

Room Tip: try and get back room little noise on front thats all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

In past 18 months have stayed at 3 different hotels in Weymouth and all were good and excellent value and of a similar standard really but The Crown has turned out to be our favourite. Excellent staff, food and very good value. Everywhere was spotless and the location great. Parking was £3 per night and well worth it ( this is the biggest bugbear of any of the town and seafront hotels). Breakfast was excellent with good choice and waiter/ress service. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Probably back for quietness-there's a club opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportCyprusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is the first time that I have been to this Hotel, and was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and service.
The room was excellent and clean.
The meals were well presented and nicely cooked, and a good portion.
The entertainment was reasonably good too.
I was impressed by the good management and the way things are organised.
I would highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is the second time I have been to the Crown - previous occasion was with my husband. This was the first trip I have done on my own since his passing and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The only criticism I would make is that the breakfast was only warm and also the meat in the evening meals, although the vegetables were piping hot. Apart from that, everybody was very friendly, courteous, helpful and polite. There was also a bonus as the bar stocked my favourite tipple, name, Dubonnet. Thank you. I will certainly come again.
The theme was 1940's and the Hotel went to a lot of trouble to make it appropriate, including a trip and lunch at the Tank Museum.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbour would be the best type to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytravellers2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at the Crown Hotel and was one of the vocalist's at the venue for one of the weekends when people from Birmingham and Worcester booked most of the hotel. This hotel was fantastic and this is coming from a well travelled person.The food was excellent even the lunch time food in the bar aswell the staff are fab and I would jump at the chance to go back to this hotel I enjoyed it so much I would go back right now.It's in a central location and just a few minutes walk to the beach front. On the whole the hotel and location and food and staff purely fantastic. Weymouth on a whole is fab.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,115 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing