We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory Weymouth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Weymouth
Ranked #34 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here on our walk around the Dorset Coast. Coffee & Cakes on arrival. a really nice room with a fantastic private bathroom and one of the best breakfasts on the trip. Would certainley stay here again (for longer next time) .

Room Tip: We had the Portland Room, but I think they are probably all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
95
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel, on arrival greeted with a warm friendly welcome by Graeme & Barbara coffee and cakes waiting for use after our long journey. Parking available in the drive.Barbara asked what time we would like breakfast to be served . The breakfast was excellent large selection . Our room was called Chesil Beach this was excellent decor and very clean we were overlooking the sea. The hotel is situated in a very good position just across the road from the sea front where there is a bowling and putting green, five minutes walk into Weymouth harbour, pub which served good food just around the corner. Would definately return to this hotel and recommend to anyone. Steve & Bev Robinson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesdr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Absolutly wonderfull weekend break - always a warm welcome from Barbara and Graeme - very homely feel to this beautifull house and so clean and comfortable with everything you need. A fabulous breakfast to set you up for the day exploring the picturesque town of Weymouth and the surrounding area. You will not be disappointed when you book a stay at this lovely bed and breakfast .......... fantastic!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Owner at The Old Rectory Weymouth, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi Jackie and Colin,

Thank you so much for leaving a review for us, it was very much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Graeme and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a find! You will not be disappointed with your choice of holiday staying at The Old Rectory. From the moment you arrive you feel the warmth of Barbara & Graeme's hospitality. We decided to visit Weymouth at short notice and wished we had booked a longer break. A perfect breakfast, including the best fruit bowl starter you could wish for, superb! The room was impeccable and meticulously decorated to an extremely high standard. The bed was extremely comfortable and pillows to die for. Highly recommended, will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

only stayed 1 night - wish it could have been more! Very accommodating, very welcoming and the room was lovely. Clean, comfortable and up to date. Breakfast excellent. Perfect hosts in Graham and Barbara. And cheaper the the Premier Inn!

Room Tip: all good. Our room was Chesil. 3 windows all with different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for one night on my birthday and it was lovely. The room was beautiful, very smart and we could see the sea from one of our windows. Lovely new bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic, continental and cooked. Barbara and Graeme were really lovely and chatted with us and were very welcoming. The location is perfect, near the town centre and beach but in a quiet part of town. Really glad we picked to stay there and have already recommended to friends. Would definitely stay again. Very impressed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beautiful house, exceptionally clean. Wonderful hospitality, all made our olympic sailing trip very enjoyable.
Greeted with Dorset applecake and tea on arrival (very welcome after a long drive).
Breakfast was superb. nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Would definitely recommend and will stay again on our next trip to Weymouth

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzys29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Ashmira Guest House
Ashmira Guest House
#14 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#21 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Weymouth

Property: The Old Rectory Weymouth
Address: 42 Melcombe Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Weymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory in Weymouth is a lovely Art Deco property built in 1920. Situated under 2 minutes walk from the beach and promenade, in the quiet area of Greenhill, but just 10 minutes walk from the main town centre and lovely golden sands of Weymouth. Free off road parking is available on our private drive. All 3 rooms have been refurbished and decorated in 2012. (2 have seaviews, and our Dorchester Room has a sun terrace facing the sea). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Weymouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing