We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper pub, proper ale !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Ranked #136 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proper pub, proper ale !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Kings is a lovely pub superbly located on the harbour. I enjoyed several superb pints of Tribute over the course of the bank holiday weekend and beyond. The staff were efficeint and frinedly even during the busy time of the music festival. I didn't have any food but what I saw looked very good. I highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you want real England then this is the sort of pub to visit. Of course you should not be put off by the fishermen in their waders who come in for a pint after a hard day out at sea. The beer is great, the locals unbelievably friendly and the food is excellent. At last I got a real ploughmans, something other - so called pubs - in the harbour area don't do any more.

I visited the pub years ago when we came into Weymouth harbour on a small yacht. it was great then and it still is today.

Oh, and it was packed. but that is authentic and proves its popularity

Paul White and family

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Popped in this pub for few drinks to start off our weekend.lovely pub friendly staff great views overlooking the quay.would recommend tourists to visit very friendly nice atmosphere.got chatting to some locals in there made us feel very welcome would go there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allaboard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent a lot of time in here this weekend. Great atmosphere, friendly locals and tourists.

Food locally caught and very nice, located on the harbour. Sea bass was yummy, only criticism that took a while to come but once on table it was delicious.

Can get quite crowded at night but defo worth a visit, landlord also very nice and has a laugh with locals and tourists alike. Great atmosphere will defo return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mowen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I wouldnt bother visiting here! When ordering food at the bar the poor excuse of a 'gentlemen' behind the bar was rude and arrogant. The food was terrible, we didnt even recieve the correct meals ordered. My partner and I took some family friends in and I have never felt so let down by the recommendations I recieved. I certainly wont be visiting here again! Waste of money and waste of time!!
The lovely young lady also behind the bar did however, come and apologise for her managers behaviour.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJaneCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami D, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, September 26, 2015
The Kings Arms Pub has now been taken over. We are jus looking through the old trip advisor reviewed and hope that you will consider returning to us in the future if you visit Weymouth.
We are very sorry that you had to put up with this sort of service in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A fascinating period pub in lovely location. Oh, and dog friendly!
Pub only had one other table in when we visited for lunch (limited lunchtime menu). Food, although fresh, was really nothing special and took ages to arrive. A bit on the pricey side too, for the portion sizes.The lass behind the bar was as helpful as possible, but we did feel that the chef was calling the shots and her hands were tied.
Lacking some atmosphere but it's always hard to tell out of season; maybe the evenings are a little more lively!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty-storme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent sea food and snacks. We have sampled crab sandwiches when only in for a snack which were good and good value. The Tribute beer is always good. Service varies from the staff, depending on who is behind the bar. Also hot food may take some time to arrive, perhaps also depending on who is in the kitchen... as the pub wasn't particularly busy... Situated at the harbour area of Weymouth which is the more scenically attractive perhaps..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Wadham Guesthouse
Wadham Guesthouse
#72 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Bungalow - Weymouth
0.1 mi away
Sailors Return
Sailors Return
#153 of 170 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boaters Guest House
Boaters Guest House
#99 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastney Hotel
Eastney Hotel
#66 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melcombe Villa Guest House
Melcombe Villa Guest House
#12 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 15 Trinity Road, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing