We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prince Regent
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned form weekend trip. GB Tours were good but the weekend was let down somewhat by room 116 at the hotel. It was at the side/rear of the hotel. The room was small but well equipped and the bed was clean. The window frame needed replacing or at least painting and the bathroom needed a new shower cubicle as there was black mould round the bottom and the doors were difficult to open and close. We did ask to move but the only alternative was a basement room which we declined. The room also overlooked what I think was a smoking area which caused problem one night with people talking loud. Wife complained to the night staff and was told in not so many words that we had gone to bed too early. The food was good and waitress although overworked was very good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 116 unless it has been upgraded in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    316
    131
    64
    34
See reviews for
107
397
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEWAK-ON-TRENT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We self - drove from Newark-on-Trent and found the hotel easily. Parking was a problem if you have a large car as the car park is very tight (through no fault of the hotel). However we were able to park in the Russell car park and the hotels are connected. We were in room 102 which was very comfortable apart from being too hot. A fan was provided for which we were grateful.
The hotel is very clean and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The meals were as we have come to expect for Daishs ( this being our forth hotel of theirs) They were well cooked, well presented and very well served. Portions were more than big enough. We enjoyed the beautifully restored ballroom for the entertainment . We thought the duo Something Borrowed were excellent and also enjoyed Mike Moran
An excellent holiday and we shall return

Room Tip: Avoid room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLENYS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here with our 88 year old father in law upon his request. Upon reflection I wished that we had stayed in our normal B and B around by the harbour.
Upon arrival reception was very busy at 3pm check in and a number of the elderly guests were ignorant and wanted their keys immediately and as I was stood by the lift I was taken to be the lift boy.
The first lady I helped with the lift simply had no idea of how a lift operated, I pressed the button to call the lift as she cursed waiting for it to arrive. I showed her how to open the doors and she was off, no thanks. As we had checked in we called the lift for our 88 year old in law. The lift clearly is an old service lift and as such only my wife and her father with the luggage could enter.
My father in law was placed in room 302 , he is 88 has numerous health conditions and struggles to move let alone walk. He was required to climb 3 flights of stairs and it nearly finished him off. This point had been raised when it was booked and so he was moved to a ground floor room.
Meal times are set at 6.30pm with limited choice but edible, we were then asked about booking coach trips ? Staff were courteous and prompt with the next dish as it was 3 course.
Breakfast for me and my family was small, I can understand why the portions are fine for most the customers due to their age but not someone with an average appetite. Again it was fine to eat simply too small.
At the end of breakfast you were handed a sheet of paper that you had to indicate what you wanted for your evening meal, felt like being in Hospital.
The room was adequate in size, could of been cleaner, our bed cover had stains.
For the price I can understand why it appeals to the elderly, but I would not recommend it to anyone under 70. It had the feeling of being in an Old Peoples Home. At times it felt like we were in a scene from the sitcom DEREK on channel 4.
One elderly chap kept asking everyone if they were from Leicester, he would then walk off around the room only to return 20 minutes later to ask the same again.
In summing up a cheap place to stop with just about acceptable levels of cleanliness and food.
Not recommended if young a young couple/family

Room Tip: Seaview essential. Only suitable for the fit over 70's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

we went with alfa coach tours on the 21st april ( easter monday) the journey there fantastic bit of a delay with traffic but great once reaching the russell hotel we were greeted by assistant manager david who was very friendly.
once we had our key which took all off around 4 mins we went to our room which i must say was the best i had seen on the alfa holidays very spacious clean.
we went for food around 6.30 pm till 7pm and the staff were on the ball very efficient and the food that came was hot and very tasty.
later we got ready for the entertainment which at first was a quiz for sweets which was fun normally these things are boreing but not here it was brilliant the bingo was for good cash prizes hubby on one night won a line off 16.50 lol but the house over four nights every night was over 100 pound plus a flyer later was over a hundred pound. ive been to eastbourne before which i thought was good but no where i have been has compared to the value off this holiday i have laughed so much beleive me haveing to go home was a real downer i will be back there the excursions were really good cant wait for next year

Room Tip: there is a lift to all floors but ive only stayed here once and my room was very good i was near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe bucks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a mix up with our booking(we were booked into the adjoining Russell Hotel), we were accomadated here at the Prince Regent.. However we couldn,t fault anything, staff, food, room, entertainment all fantastic.... Met some lovely guests & will be returning in the near future... Many thanks.......

Room Tip: Obviously sea view rooms have better views but other rooms are still as lovely.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevhighwycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during first week of April 14 for 4 nights, as part of a coach party. I was agreeably surprised after reading previous reviews on here, to find thae the refurbishment programme was well advanced, and in fact had been completed in all the areas of the hotel which we used.
Our bedroom was large, airy and spacious, and very clean, with crisp sheets and large beds ( a Kingsize, and 2 singles). The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and always ready to drop what they were doing to assist promptly.
Breakfast menus satisfied most people, with continental food as well as full English breakfasts. The Evening meal menus were limited to three choices for starters, mains, and sweets. The food was tasty, hot, and served swiftly, on hot plates, by efficient staff. The hotel is geared to serving large numbers of guest very efficiently and unobtrusively.
Evenings were covered with usual Bingo sessions, quizzes, and professional entertainment and made for a very pleasant stay.
This hotel easily lives up to its 3 star rating, and is in a great central location in Weymouth, with a public transport bus stop close by, for those who want to go to the main shopping centre some 500 metres away.
I will recommend this hotel without hesitation..

Room Tip: Single rooms tended to be at the top of he hotel, and I understand that they were rather small, in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TalarwenWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 4 / 7 April 2014 and have been regular visitors to Prince Regent. This was our first experience of a Daish's run hotel. No options re meal times 8:30 AM Breakfast and 6:30 PM (Nursery sic) dinner. Full English breakfast delivered to the table, no mushrooms, baked beans alternated with a small tinned plum tomato. Evening meals fared no better.

Yes the hotel has always been in need of major works, but the food was always of the highest standard with a good menu selection and you could choose your dinner in the evening not while you are eating your breakfast!

If you want a cheap place to sleep in a good room, a basic breakfast then it will suffice but definitely eat out elsewhere at an adult time for better quality food and selection.

The staff were under pressure and struggled to serve breakfast or dinner easily with everyone conditioned to arrive at the same time. Many of the staff we knew from previous visits and they were worth 5 *. Thank you.

Would we return Weymouth yes but the hotel - Hard to say.

Graham and June

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince Regent

Property: Hotel Prince Regent
Address: 139 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prince Regent is an attractive seafront property on Weymouth's historic esplanade with views across Weymouth Bay and the craggy Dorset Jurassic coastline beyond. The Hotel Prince Regent is regarded by many as the leading Weymouth seaside hotel. It's perfect for singles, couples and family holidays alike. It was purpose-built in classic Georgian style, but inside you'll see we've moved with the times and offer comfortable accommodation with free Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. And with nightly performances in our beautiful Georgian ballroom - fully restored at a cost of nearly £100,000 - you'll always be entertained. Families are well catered for, with guest accommodation that can sleep up to five people. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With a sandy beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Weymouth town centre and great facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Prince
Regent Weymouth
Best Western Weymouth
Weymouth Best Western
Weymouth Regent
Hotel Prince Regent Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing