We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prince Regent
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 4 / 7 April 2014 and have been regular visitors to Prince Regent. This was our first experience of a Daish's run hotel. No options re meal times 8:30 AM Breakfast and 6:30 PM (Nursery sic) dinner. Full English breakfast delivered to the table, no mushrooms, baked beans alternated with a small tinned plum tomato. Evening meals fared no better.

Yes the hotel has always been in need of major works, but the food was always of the highest standard with a good menu selection and you could choose your dinner in the evening not while you are eating your breakfast!

If you want a cheap place to sleep in a good room, a basic breakfast then it will suffice but definitely eat out elsewhere at an adult time for better quality food and selection.

The staff were under pressure and struggled to serve breakfast or dinner easily with everyone conditioned to arrive at the same time. Many of the staff we knew from previous visits and they were worth 5 *. Thank you.

Would we return Weymouth yes but the hotel - Hard to say.

Graham and June

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    345
    140
    70
    34
See reviews for
122
429
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent a mid week break as part of a small party of 12. The hotel was full of coach parties, but was very well run although meals times it was rather like being on a conveyor belt with the next course coming really before you had finished the last one!The food was very good with a good choice.
The room was rather small, but the view of the sea made up for it. It was good to have tea making facilities in the room. All the staff were very helpful with entertainment every evening.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel with sea view, but also some traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just returned home after a great 5 day holiday at Prince Regent hotel, we had a comfortable room overlooking the sea the staff at the hotel were first class and couldn't do enough for you and the food was excellent. The renovations will improve the hotel further so Good Luck for the future we will certainly be returning again later this year.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petianele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent break with a small group for 4 nights. A very nice room with lovely view of the sea, good food and organised for minimum wastage. Entertainment every night and hotel working hard with renovations but not causing us any problem .Excellent value for money. Good Luck for the future and we hope to be back.
Worth paying extra for a sea view room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire u.k.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Okay, here goes, I have stayed in plenty of Hotels far better. However, the room they gave us was a family room with a king and 3 single beds, sea view, 2 comfy armchairs in the bay window, bath and shower. If we add to that, breakfast consisting of fruit juice, cereal, full English, toast, jams/marmalade, copious cups of tea/coffee. Evening meal consisted of soup, roll and butter, roast pork stuffing, roast potatoes, new pots, green beans, and sprouts, sticky toffee pudding with custard, tea/coffee, add to that there was a choice on these menus of 3/4 different things and choice of pud then I think the folks that are complaining are a little out of order. Oh! The price??? £138 for 3 days!!!!!! Excellent, and would like to go to Edinburgh or another part of the country with Danish's, perhaps for longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regent and not the Russell next door, so opt for the Regent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slouvaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went for a long week end break with daishes coach travel. Hotel manager came on coach to meet us which was a nice touch. Had a sea view room . should of been a double room with single beds but ended up a family with a double and 2 singles . Room was massive really nice . In the hotel there was a ballroom had entertainment on Friday Saturday and Sunday some really good. Only problem the people there were elderly and were dancing ball room and we could not do it. They also played bingo in the ball room. The regent is connected threw the corridors to the next hotel the The Russel Hotel which we could use as well . Had entertainment in there every night and more younger couple where you could get on smaller dance floor. Saturday night was half price drinks night that was good. staff all very friendly and helpful . Food was nice and quite quick. Really enjoyed our stay. Would def go back.

Room Tip: Sea view . Also higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Daish's of Torquay have recently bought this Hotel and the one next door called The Russell to add to their chain of Hotels.The dining room was too small with too many tables making movement very difficult the food was good but the Chef needs to learn how to do a fried egg which were undercooked and inedible which made you feel sickl
y not a good start to the day. I would have complained but to catch the waiter was very difficult due to the layout of the room.

However decided to skip Breakfast and enjoyed a Wetherspoon Breakfast down the road for £3.19 for the last 3 days.Great value for money fantastic location.Would I go back YES

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gedtowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince Regent

Property: Hotel Prince Regent
Address: 139 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prince Regent is an attractive seafront property on Weymouth's historic esplanade with views across Weymouth Bay and the craggy Dorset Jurassic coastline beyond. The Hotel Prince Regent is regarded by many as the leading Weymouth seaside hotel. It's perfect for singles, couples and family holidays alike. It was purpose-built in classic Georgian style, but inside you'll see we've moved with the times and offer comfortable accommodation with free Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. And with nightly performances in our beautiful Georgian ballroom - fully restored at a cost of nearly £100,000 - you'll always be entertained. Families are well catered for, with guest accommodation that can sleep up to five people. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With a sandy beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Weymouth town centre and great facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Prince
Regent Weymouth
Best Western Weymouth
Weymouth Best Western
Weymouth Regent
Hotel Prince Regent Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing