We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Haddock Ever”

King Edwards Fish & Chips
Ranked #32 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The King Edwards is situated opposite the Jubilee Clock on The Esplanade, with views overlooking Weymouth Beach. We offer and extensive menu and are licensed to serve alcohol. You can choose between the eat in restaurant or takeaway service.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Haddock Ever”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a fab take away and sat on the prom. Haddock was mouthwatering and kids loved the novelty dinner in a bucket with a spade that was used straight away on the beach

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    102
    30
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“waste of money!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a waste of money (why do people who sit next to the windows get bigger portions?).We ordered cod n chips , sausages in batter n chips, double QTR pounder n chips and chicken and mushroom pie and chips.WELL, cod was not to bad even though the batter out weighed the actual fish along with a child's size portion of chips. Two sausages in batter was really one cut in half,the chicken and mushroom pie looked and tasted like it came out of the microwave, mushy slop! and the chips were not even half a portion.The worse was the succulent double QTR pounder with a side garnish....oh dear...like 2 floppy bits of rubber and the garnish ..half a cherry tomato, one tiny piece of onion with a small piece of lettuce...YUM. All washed down with 2 small pepsi's served in the usual takeaway cups for £2.25 each. TOTAL £32.......Save your money and visit the sea- chef which backs on to it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey Cod 'n' Chips”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have been to many Fish 'n' Chip shops around the UK. This one however was too pricey for what you got. The quantity was also very shameful.....only difference between a large cod 'n' chips and standard cod 'n' chips was the actually size of plate which it was served on. Same goes for the so called half chicken (might as well been a chicken quarter). Overall tasteless chips and greasy. Tartar sauces when asked for, we were given someone else's scraping in a bowl....once again shameful. Paying almost £40 for three portions of food with medium drinks is disgraceful.....don't might paying it if it was actually tasty and plentiful!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gieta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hold that sauce!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I don't recommend King Edwards. I ordered BBQ chicken and salad. When it arrived, the chicken was floating in a pinky brown sauce. Plus there was a gravy jug full of more or the stuff. When I asked what it was, I was told it was BBQ sauce! so it was NOT BBQ CHICKEN as written on the menu board at all, but chicken with BBQ sauce. Pity, because it is in such a prime location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avventura2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Go There”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hi, just come back from lovely holiday in Weymouth, if you are looking for traditional fish and chip shop then a visit to this restaurant will disappoint you, firstly we asked if they served savaloys, to which the waitresses had to have a discussion to come up with the answer No. Most annoyingly I asked if the potatoes were of fresh chips as they seemed to be the frozen ones normally served in cafes, I was shown a large bag which the manageress exclaimed were delivered from Dorchester every day, (this did not answer my original question), I asked if the chips were made from King Edward potatoes, as the name of the restaurant would suggest, the manageress said she didn't know as "she only works here", a waitress added that a lot of the cafes sold the same chips, my reply was that if this was a traditional fish and chip shop, then surely the chips should be prepared on the premises as I thought that's the reason why we was paying the extra money to eat there in the first place, as manageress clearly wasn't bothered as we were holiday makers and she had no interest as 'she only worked there' we paid overpriced for service and food and left, never to return. P.S. If you are looking for 'traditional fish and chips' try restaurant at rear of King Edwards, prepared fresh on premises at reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hussmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Edwards Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to King Edwards Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing