We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks better (from outside) than it is (inside)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunray - CLOSED

The Sunray
Cuisines: British, Grill
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dorset
Level Contributor
535 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Looks better (from outside) than it is (inside)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have been passing this pub for years and saying we must try it - so last Sunday we did. It has always looked great from the outside and is amazingly large on the inside, with a large bar, beer garden and restaurant area which includes a converted patio sundeck. We both had the £10.50 Sunday carvery (£5.95 rest of the time) which was very good. That said the rest of the menu (encapsulated paper) looked like standard pub fayre (ie not gastro) and quite pricey. Staff were friendly and attentive but pub looked a bit frayed at the edges and in need of some TLC. Good news is this is not a chain pub - it is owned by Enterprise Inns as a Beer-tie but is leased by locals Brightie Limited. So in summary good for Sunday carvery but otherwise average. I suggest a better alternative in this area is the Hall & Woodhouse Smugglers Inn in Osmington Mills - better menu in a great location overlooking the sea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    33
    44
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had two carveries here in 4 days, one with my elderly parents and one with my partner and foster child, both were very, very good with fantastic service on both occasions. The carvery was faultless both times and everything was very fresh and great value (both visits were at lunchtime). Would heartily recommend and an improvement of 100% on my last visit there a few years ago - many thanks to all at the Sunray, we will be seeing you again for sure !!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetPortlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Carvery - Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We called in for lunch after spending time in Weymouth. The pub offers an excellent priced carvey (with 3 meats) - price was 5.95 at lunchtime (more expensive in the evening). Food was excellent, well cooked. My 2 kids ate off the children's menu and portion sizes were just right and we didn't need to wait long. Service from all staff was excellent - we will have no hesitation in going back - but next time we will wait for dry weather so that the kids can use the fantastic play facilities int he garden.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This evening we went to The Sunray in Osmington and had a very nice meal. I had a carvery meal which was excellent - good choice and portions of meat which were well cooked - tasty potatoes and vegetables, plus trimmings! My wife had a delicious flavour sirloin steak cooked to perfection, good chips, tomatoes and peas!! Followed by a romantically shared pudding!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST CARVERY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have been using the sunray for many years now and its the best carvery its ever been.
Thank you to Ian and Maz for your great service.
Alan & Linda

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cornubiaoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunray also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing