We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large cod and chips please.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennett's Fish & Chips

Bennett's Fish & Chips
Ranked #43 of 277 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large cod and chips please.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My ideal "chips and fish" meal is a (very) large cod and chips. At Bennett's on the waterfront I was not disappointed. Thick white flakes of cod forming a hot tasty fish, and all wrapped in a light well seasoned batter, delicious. Many chippies serve chips that have clearly come straight out of a "Value frozen chips" bag, but at Bennett,s the chips are as good as home made. Having lived in Lancashire for some time, and having experienced chips and fish from Wigan to St. Helier, Bennett's is on my list for revisits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnLittonCheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    111
    52
    41
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a perfect day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had promised ourselves a fish and chip supper on our final day in Weymouth. Fairly reasonable and my husband did not have to wait long to be served while I found us a bench! It was the best fish and chips I have had for a very long time!

What better way to end a lovely break than to sit on a bench with fish and chips over looking the harbour watching the world go by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemsta1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awful meal...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Theres always a big queue outside this place so thought we'd give it a try. We ate in the restaurant. We had chicken & chips & fishcakes & chips. The chips were very greasy & the fish cakes just tasted horrible & bland. The chicken was bloody! My husband took it back & give them their due he got a refund. The chef(!) said they got them in pre-cooked & just heated them up. We wont be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lollipop58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tight with their portions....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is definitely not the best fish and chip shop/cafe in Weymouth.... they just seem to be able to cash in because they are situated in a wonderful location. Portions of chips are modest and prices are amongst the highest around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redmic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Dont let all the adverts outside the "Chippy" fool you. We ordered fish and chips and the batter on the fish weas very hard and didnt appear fresh. There are plenty other fish and chip shops on the harbour and my advice is to try them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ste7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bennett's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing