We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Maiden Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Maiden Rest
Ranked #55 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Basic and dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in room 3, for a family of four for long wk/end, realise the owners havent been there long and are still in the process of updating the place but they really need to replace the matress on the double bed, so uncomfortable hardly got any sleep for the duration of our stay,shower small had mould all over ceiling and tiles, Breakfast was'nt good, bacon too salty rubbish sausages, tea and coffee awful could taste the limescale form the urn so stuck to apple and orange juice. having said that im sure this could be a great place to stay if a few small changes are made as the location is great, right on the sea front.
Can't fault Weymouth though beautiful place !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
63
85
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went on a long weekend with friends and family and had 3 rooms we were all very happy with. Our room which was the largest (family room for a couple and 5 year old child- double bed and a single) was well furnished with new white linen and covers was really light, airy and spacious with a fab sea view was more expensive than the others but was really delightful. If I had to find something negative the only thing would be that it would have been nice to have more power in the shower but it was a perfectly ok shower. All the rooms were nice and I would have been happy in any one of them. We all had a really enjoyable stay and found the location ideal.

Room Tip: We had a brilliant sea view family room which was more expansive than others in our party who had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LieselQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We read previous reviews, and knew the current owners had only just taken over and were in the middle of revamping. Having grown up in Weymouth, and around its hospitality industry, we were fully aware that having taken over in April, very little would have been done or will be done until after the high summer season - it makes no business sense to close during the peak.

Having expected the worst, we were pleasantly surprised. It's certainly no five-start hotel, but it meets your basic needs. The rooms were clean and tidy, and while perhaps in need of a bit of decorating in places, things seemed in pretty good shape. Plumbing was a bit of a problem, as once you've used the toilet, the macerator goes off and keeps going off every 10mins for an hour. If you can get to sleep quick, then it's okay, otherwise it can be a bit annoying. However, without it, there would be no en-suite bathroom, so it's a small price to pay for a bit of privacy.

Breakfast was included in the room price, and there was a pretty good selection. Cereal, fruit and juice available from the table. Hot drinks, and hot food available on request. There was fully cooked English breakfast, scrambled/fried egg/beans on toast, sausage/bacon sandwich and toast on offer. I'm not one for fry-ups and would have stuck to cereal (had it not been for full-fat milk only). Opted for beans on toast and everything was hot. Old owners had very restricted breakfast times; new owners have increased the serving time.

The room was pretty basic with TV, kettle and tea/coffee supplies. Shower was clean and while it's hard to get good water pressure up on the third floor, at least the water was hot, even by my standards. There is nothing worse than lukewarm shower water, but here I had to actually turn the heat down! Towels (face, hand and bath) were ready and waiting on arrival, extras were available on request.

Location is excellent. You are up the far end of the Esplanade, just past the Jubilee Clock, about five minutes walk from the railway station. It's quieter at that end of the beach, with a terrace run of B&Bs/hotels, so you are away from the arcades and other tourist attractions, but still within walking distance.

Parking was our only bug bear, but then parking in Weymouth has always been an issue. The owners do now have parking permits, but there is clearing more parking permits issued than spaces, so it can be a fight to find a space. Overnight parking is available at the station car park, which is a short walk away, although we were there for the carnival, so they had closed that, which meant we ended up miles away the first night. Found the Royal Yard - Car Park the following night, which only cost £3.00 overnight for parking between 7pm and 9.30am, so if you are an early bird, this is a good option.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkleGirlSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Room was basic and dated Bed very creaky, breakfast was hot and ok but instead of 2 rubbish sausages 1 nice butchers one would be better .if you get room 1 veiw is a brick wall and you dont get much air in room so window had to be open but be prepared to be woken at 7 am by the OWNERS radio in the kitchen no chance of lay in which is what i come away for as normaly up at 5 am for work

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Unlike other reviewers, we didn't find the owner particularly helpful. From reviews we were expecting to find the room shabby but clean and this was an accurate description. The ensuite was in a large cupboard with louvred-door. We were only given one small hand towel and a flannel - no bath towels.
The breakfast was good, although service could have been better - I requested a glass of tap water and this was warm when it came. We didn't get any toast. Just small things, but you would expect new owners to be really making an effort if they want the business to be a success.
Mistakes were just thoughtless really, but not rare.
The outside appearance and location were fabulous - this could be a really lovely place with a bit of effort. Not sure it is going to get it though.

Room Tip: Our room was a large double (Room 20) and on the back of the house (no sea view - in fact no view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14jaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and didn't regret it. We had a nice little ensuite room in the front house with view to the sea. It wasn't noisy in the night or in the morning, although there's a road between the beach and the hotel. The new owners had just put new mattrasses and linen in the room, so we had a goodnight sleep, everything was clean. The shower was fixed provisionally, but worked fine. The breakfast was ok, everything took a bit long with only a few guests there. Obviously Dean didn't know a lot about the town, environment and what to do there. A couple asked him some easy questions you should be able to answer if you run a hotel or B&B, even if you're having no personal interest in those things.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldtrip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights starting 23rd July with my partner. The new hosts Dean and Maya were very friendly and accommodating and cooked us great fresh breakfast every morning.
Fab location right opposite the beach on the esplanade, Weymouth has a lot to offer and it is a pleasant stroll along the front to various bars,restaurants etc.
We had a double room which was light and adequate, well equipped with tea and coffee etc and clean. Our room was not one with a sea view but this was not a problem, we stayed when it was very hot and the room was boiling but we just used a fan and it was ok
We had new bedding which was very clean and fresh, some rooms have new mattresses ours did'nt which did cause some discomfort. However, Dean and Maya have only just taken over this hotel and it does need updating, they have already made a start and as the saying goes Rome was not built in a day.
We had a lovely 3 days and would definately recommend others to give it a try, it represents excellent value for money and you could not wish for better hosts.
We will definately go back in the future and it will be interesting to see the further improvements made.

Room Tip: Try for a room on higher floor, would imagine it would be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
#104 of 170 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Hotel
Premier Hotel
#139 of 170 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#11 of 21 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Maiden Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Maiden Rest

Property: A Maiden Rest
Address: 117 Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7EH, England (Formerly Easy Stay Weymouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Maiden Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MAIDEN REST B&B IS A SMALL FAMILY RUN B&B ON THE SEA FRONT IN WEYMOUTH. YOU CAN BE SURE OF A NICE CLEAN ROOM WITH A VARIETY AND FILLING BREAKFAST IN THE MORNING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your A Maiden Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Maiden Rest Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing