We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull!!”
Review of Swallows Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swallows Rest
Ranked #20 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cowplain, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfull!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Fantastic facilities and the best ever breakfast! Lovely sea views from the penthouse. Loved the farmhouse and the animals. Plenty of tea, coffee and homemade cakes in our room and on arrival. We will certainly return later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevnjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    26
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
98
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed for just the one night as we were in the area visiting family and this was only a couple of minutes away from them.
Excellent value and more friendly hosts you could not hope to meet. The house is wonderful and feels homely from the moment you step through the door. We were booked into the Sandpiper room which was spacious, great tea/coffee facilities ( including 2 home baked cakes and two chocolates on the tea tray as well ). Good sized shower room and shower which added to the room. The views look out over both the garden and towards Chesil Beach and make it that much better.

Breakfast is ordered the night before ( for the cooked part ) and is well worth waiting for. An excellent choice of local and home produced items which set us up for the day and meant we didn't want lunch! Was enjoyable to not be rushed at breakfast, though we were the only ones staying, and watch the resident chickens and pig wandering around the garden.

For those who want quick access to Chesil beach or to the walking trail then there is a path by the side of Swallows that will have you there in no more than a minute. For any photographers then the sun coming up over Portland looks wonderful and is worth having that quick access to the beach to capture. If I'd been able to get up sooner then I would have done.

All in all a great place to stay and you will find it hard to get anyway better to stay in my opinion.

Room Tip: Sandpiper has great views looking out towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berks_traveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We chose to stay overnight to visit the nearby crab restaurant , which is a short walk across the fields and coastal path.
As other review’s say the breakfast is highly recommended, freshly cooked to perfection (you order the night before) with plenty of choice.
We were welcomed with tea and cakes which is great way to wind down after a long drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emitdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We had booked the Tern room but we were upgraded to Sandpiper room which was good as the room was more spacious.

Breakfast was delicious with her own eggs & good quality bacon and delicious sausages! There was also of fruit, yoghurt, good cereals and home made jam- you will not go hungry!!

Home made daily cakes very welcome.

Views great and nice to walk straight down to coast path.

At £65 per night for 2 very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I camped for three nights in June 2013, whilst attending the Wessex Folk Festival at Weymouth. It was excellent value, located just within walking distance of the town centre, provided you didn't take the scenic route via the disused railway! Facilities were all clean and tidy, hot water was hot - always a good sign. Would highly recommend it to festival campers. Oh, and electric hook-ups are available, something I always look for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at B and B for one night, while visiting family staying on caravan site. I had a single room called Little Tern, all rooms are named after birds. It was very comfortable. Tea and coffee and a cake, tv, ensuite. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it! The garden was pretty, with chickens running around and Mildred, a pot bellied pig wandering. Beautiful setting, near chesil beach. Would recommend it.
If I had a complaint, it would be, no conditioner in shower and no hand cream!!!! But that's just me!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Spanishsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stop over. It was a real treat to see the collection of ducks, chickens and the beautiful Kune Kune pig, entertaining us during breakfast as we looked through the patio door.We felt very welcome and comfortable at Swallow's Rest. The tea and cake on arrival was very nice and the full English breakfast was cooked to perfection and delicious. The garden is big with a view to the sea. We enjoyed a walk down to the water's edge, where we met more of the animals, we would have liked to stay longer. Many thanks for our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khamsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.2 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Heritage Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#1 of 15 in Isle of Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Rest

Property: Swallows Rest
Address: Martleaves Farm House 41 South Road | Wyke Regis, Weymouth DT4 9NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swallows Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast (recent winners of Four In A Bed on Channel 4!) with Self Catering is premium 4* Gold luxury Farmhouse accommodation located in the Dorset countryside on the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. We are in a Nature Reserve, a site of scientific interest (SSI) renowned for its wildlife, and a great place for bird watchers during the winter months. We have been awarded a 4* Gold Rating by the prestigious AA assessors. We have an enclosed garden within our 34 acres, with a footpath leading down to the sea and the Jurassic coastal path. Swallows Rest is in a quiet rural location near Portland, just a 5 minute drive, or a 2 mile walk, from the Sailing Academy and the site of the 2012 Olympics. We are within 4 miles of the main attractions and sandy beaches at Weymouth. Surrounded by countryside, nestling on the coastline adjacent to the world famous Chesil Beach we are lucky enough to have all the benefits of both worlds. Our 4* Bed & Breakfast accommodation comprises of a luxury family room, two double en-suite rooms, one twin en-suite bedroom and a single en suite bedroom. We have 2 self catering apartments, one with wheelchair access. In our gardens we have a lake with ducks, chicken, bantams and pet pigs wandering. We are also a wedding venue with a civil ceremony licence. We can accommodate weddings with up to 100 guests in a marquee with a backdrop of Chesil Beach. From 1st Nov until 27th March we have a Special B&B Offer of 3 nights for the price of 2 (exc. 19 Dec-4 Jan). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Swallows Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Rest Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing