We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second best burger in Weymouth”

The George Bar & Grill
Ranked #14 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second best burger in Weymouth”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The burgers here are great. Not quite as good as DBC (but DBC is a burger place), but a comfortable second.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lipanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    191
    67
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mostly good - but let down by truely awful BBQ spare ribs”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a window seat upstairs and the view was lovely. All the staff were brilliant - from the friendly guy who took our booking to the girls waiting tables.
The starters were absolutely delish - especially the warm cheese sauce that came with the spicy chicken wings. And three of the main courses were good or better (especially the two involving fish).
But...... the BBQ ribs the other three of us had were just awful - tough, very, very little meat with just a smear of sauce on top. Don't know if it was a one-off problem with their butcher, but one of us is a bit of a rib expert - and has never had any that unpleasant - anywhere in the country (including several Weymouth eateries)!
The George does have a lot going for it but this did spoil it a bit. That said we would probably risk going back - but I think I might have been put off ribs for ever!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

A drinks were a little pricey but the food was absolutely fantastic. Seating areas were arranged well and the staff were very friendly. The steaks were cooked perfectly, and the deserts were lovely. The views of the harbour were fantastic in the evening with the boats coming in. I find it hard to fault this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieega12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Choose wisely!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

4 of us ate here and 2 people had fantastic food one had good food and one had rubbish food!
Stay away from standard pub food and order the fishy dishes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lola86Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got To Try Their Steak.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Really good, well lit airy interior overlooking the water. Loved the cut off doors as a decor to the bar.

The steak was tremendous. I must say, I actually preferred the rib eye over the fillet, but either way, this steak is quite superb. Seasoned perfectly. Oh and while we're talking about seasoning, you simply HAVE to try their fries. These are HOME COOKED fries, yes you heard me, with the skins still on...but...fries. No need to add salt and such, they are already coated in something unique and lovely as a seasoning. We agreed, we could just eat the fries, they're that good.

The way they dress the salad too, is so very classy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The George Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing