We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ferrybridge Pub - CLOSED

The Ferrybridge Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Come and visit this traditional welcoming pub. We are situated at the end of Wyke Regis near to the Isle of Portland. It has panoramic views over The Fleet and Chesil Beach. Try a nice refreshment of good wines and local Ales and taste some lovely local freshly cooked food within the bar or restaurant area. Enjoy a stay in our newly renovated rooms, all with stunning views. Feel the warmth of the wood burner in the winter and see the beautiful sunsets all year around. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

For the last 4 years we have had a week’s holiday in Weymouth, but this year we decided to go down a day early, so we booked a night at the Ferrybridge. The rooms were exactly what we were expecting very clean and comfortable all with sea views a real nice place to stay. We also had 2 evening meals and breakfast at the inn and all I have to say is excellent, some of the best food I have ever eaten with the service to match .So I recommend if your in Weymouth go and visit Chris and his staff you won’t be disappointed. Also don’t be put off by the exterior of the pub the interior is exactly what you need to wind down and relax while you enjoy your meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty average, honest pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by this pub due to its recommendation in tripadvisor. I would describe it as an honest British pub. The food was good value for money, although nothing too spectacular. Not much choice for vegetarians. A nice pint of Ruddles though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Garpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice prices, delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior, the Ferry Bridge Inn is a great place to eat. (nicely priced too)
When I was told that I was going to be eating here before travelling 270 miles home, I cringed a little.
No exageration thou, the food was fantastic, with service to match.
Initially, 'no room at the Inn', but the landlord Chris hunted down and built up a table large enough to accomodate 6 of us on what was already a busy evening for them.
4 Adults, all ate something different, Salmon, Chicken, Gammon and a mixed grill, every mouthful, delicious.
2 children, both extremely fussy eater cleared their plates in no time.
Bar staff, Landlord, chef, and other diners, made this a really nice evening.
Next time I'm in Weymouth, I will definately be paying this family run establisment another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen-0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This pub is a must visit if you love traditional, non spoilt pubs. From the outside it just looks like any other pub, once your inside everything changes .Oak beams, open log fire and a welcome you never seem to get in town bars. Set on the banks of Chesil Beach, the Ferrybridge gives you views over the bay while enjoying juicy steaks or cooked to perfection fish. The locals make you feel so welcome that when you leave you feel as if it's been your local for years. I would highly recommend the Ferrybridge to anyone who are looking for a proper pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Local Pearl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We share our pub with grockles in the summer, sitting out with sunset views down the fleet lagoon but what they don't enjoy is cosying up to the real fire with a good bottle of red in the cooler months. Since Chris and family took over the pub is slowly having some TLC and the food is delicious. We eat there most Sunday's and are now having to book to get our fav table with views of the sailing across Portland Harbour. A hidden gem found by some and revisited by most. We love it Xx

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfran_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ferrybridge Pub also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing