We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed eating!!”
Review of The Spice Ship

The Spice Ship
Ranked #73 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset
Level Contributor
304 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Relaxed eating!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

been here a few times and have written a previous review. We were staying at the Weymouth Bay holiday park and this place was a short distance from the park. We went on a Friday night at 7 ish. The restaurant was quite empty - and cold!! there is a door which leads to an outside eating area and a play area and of course the smokers area This door is .invariably left open, not a good idea on a cold and windy night in October. Upon arrival we asked for a table for 4 and were offered a table directly in line with this door or a table in the "family" area, a smallish alcove area which seems to be the area where most families with young kids are seated. We opted for the table in the draughty part of the restaurant. As always, we found the staff to be very friendly, our order was taken quickly - and then we sat and waited....and waited!! Never consider eating here if you're in a hurry, because everything is cooked to order in a relatively small kitchen area which is open and visible from the restaurant. The bonus being that you can watch your food being plated up!! the food itself is always well presented and plentiful.
When in this part of Weymouth we will always try to eat here, good quality, good quantity, good service, but very long waits for the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    85
    38
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spiceship”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Weymouth Bay in Seaview holiday camp.
We ate in the spiceship most nights, the food is excellent the service very friendly,you do have
to wait but, it is all freshly cooked and well worth the wait. Some people say it is dated it is an old pub it should be dated,if you want a plastic pub go into Weymouth. Will be returning next year
and look forward to eating in the Spiceship every night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited the Spice Ship last Saturday, we were pleasantly surprised, food was good the Chef was knowledgeable on where the meat etc was sourced,(rib-eye steak was lovely) downside it is a bit dated, the plastic covering on the tables for me was not good, but the service was friendly and prompt, would deffinately return

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oak-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Painfully slow service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate here on 6 October whilst staying at the nearby Haven Sea View park. It was a Sunday lunchtime but only my husband ordered the carvery (which did look lovely). My mother, son and I ordered from the menu. Our food, a simple fish and chips x 2 and a child's Hamburger and chips took well over 50 minutes to arrive at which point my Hubbie then went up to get his carvery. The food was lovely but the service was appallingly slow and they weren't that busy either. When our fish and chips finally arrived, we then had to wait another 10 minutes for my son's meal because they had forgot it was part of the order.

We were planning on having desert but even though there were only a few tables eating, it took them over 20 minutes or so (maybe more) to come and take our plates away. We decided to not to order desert and my son had a takeway ice-cream instead.

Shame really, as we thoroughly enjoyed the food. There was a good choice and prices were reasonable but the level of service really put a downer on our experience. From reading the other reviews, I don't think the slow service was a one-off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robsie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good food very slow service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited the pub twice, on the first visit the service was very slow but the food was very good. On the second visit the service was very very slow and the kitchen was struggling to keep up with the food orders. The waitresses didn’t seem to know what they were going and were running around like headless chickens. It was organised chaos both in the kitchen and restaurant. Nobody seemed to want to take control of the situation if you want another drink you must get the waitress attention they don’t come over to the table, well only to bring the food. The restaurant decor is very dated and really needs to be brightened up. The good food is ruined by the very poor and slow service. If you go be prepared for a long wait, you have been warned

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whfa2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Ship also viewed

 

Been to The Spice Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing