We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Chesil Beach”

Chesil Bank (Chesil Beach)
Ranked #4 of 72 things to do in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“On Chesil Beach”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Evoking an atmosphere that is completely unique, Chesil Beach Is simply stunning. The day that we visited began stormy but cleared within a short period giving the impression that you have visited two separate places in a short period of time. For a large part of our visit we were the only people on the beach, with just the sound of the ever shifting tide for company. Eerie and beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    185
    33
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“East Fleet Farm Caravan Park - The Croft”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from a four day (night) walking holiday staying in 'The Croft' at East Fleet Farm which is right on the water at Chesil Beach. The croft is a delightful one bedroom conversion and has all the amenities you would want for a week or even two week stay. Good sized living space and kitchen area.Kitchen is fully equipped. Adjacent bathroom with good size bath and hanging shower. Small double bedroom, but extremely comfortable bed. No wardrobe but plenty of drawer space and clothes can be hung on back of door. I have to admit that I only used the large flat screen TV to catch up on the news, but there seemed to be the usual channels. Although the bar was closed to to the lateness in the season, I was able to sit outside ether in the croft's garden or outside the bar people watching. There is also bench tables right on the waters edge at the bottom of the site (100 yards from the croft) where you can sit and watch the many species of birds on the Fleet. There is a well stocked shop with very competitive prices, You can also order your daily papers. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. Due to unforeseen circumstances, I was on my own, but intend returning with the better half in 2014. The walks along the South Coast Path are superb.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very remote”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great for flying a kite .
Loads and loads of large pebbles.
Plently of parking.
There is a small cafe at one end.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PistolPete2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Natural beauty at it's best”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A must see if you love, natural beauty at it's best.Just sit on the pebbles and use your senses to look , listen and smell the atmosphere.Fabulous in bad weather as you can see the power of the sea, but in calm weather,which is quite rare on this beach it is eerily spooky.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lala-1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

great if you like fishing, pebbles galore not for the faint hearted. a nature reserve is also on site and there is a cafe if you fancy a bite to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesil Bank (Chesil Beach) also viewed

 

Been to Chesil Bank (Chesil Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing