We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”

Chesil Bank (Chesil Beach)
Ranked #4 of 74 things to do in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you can avoid the winds then you'll love Chesil Beach. A huge natural sand bank that gives great views of the Jurassic coast and is a must visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    189
    34
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 785 helpful votes
“Millions of years of history in one graceful arc”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Without a doubt, one of the UK’s foremost natural wonders has to be Chesil Beach. This is a huge shingle bank that stretches from Portland in the south, around the sweep of Lyme Bay to Lyme Regis in the west, an unbroken distance of around 17 miles. In places, the bank is 12 meters high and never less than 50 meters wide, forming a natural barrier between land and sea along it’s entire length. Other than the main road that joins Weymouth to Portland, the bank is the only natural link between the two places meaning that Portland, throughout history has always been regarded as being of significant military importance.

The beach is, in fact, a shingle ridge created over millions of years by the action of an eastward moving sea current causing longshore drift. The billions of pebbles that form the bank range in size from large, ham-sized stones at the Portland end to small pebbles as it's sweeps towards it's western extremity

Just north of Portland, the sea is able to naturally breach the bank at Ferrybridge where it has formed a huge, tidal lagoon known as "The Fleet". This lagoon is 13 kilometers long and at places almost a kilometre wide and has become a major sanctuary for aquatic birds.

During the great storm of 1824, it was reported that the incoming waves were crashing over the top of the banks and as such, succeeded in filling The Fleet to a level whereby the then small town of Weymouth was almost deluged with flood water. Even today, severe storms have been known to send waves and shingle crashing over the bank onto the adjacent road, making it impassable and thus cutting Portland off from the mainland.

On a clear day, viewed from the steep incline from the bank up to Portland, Chesil Beach is an unforgettable sight as it arcs into the distance, the bright white pebbles contrasting with the blue sea. Once again, my late-season visit rewarded me with very unseasonable weather, more akin to June than October and as I gazed out across a white shingle beach , bordered by an azure sea, just for a moment I almost, almost thought I was in Greece.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quartz pebbles, chert pebbles, fossil pebbles.....pebbles and more pebbles.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife has spoken about childhood trips to Chesil Bank for years and I can now see why. We stopped at the new visitors area located next to the main road on the way back from visiting Portland Castle. A short walk across a wooden causeway takes you onto the back of the very large pebble embankment that makes up Chesil Beach. Walking over the top and along the seaward side of the embankment takes a bit of effort but is well worth it. Try racing the kids up the slopes - great fun and a good way to wear them out. Our boys enjoyed their 20 minute stop here more than the few hours spent at Portland Castle. Lots to see in the pebbles including some with ammonite fossils. Not for swimming though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

When may family and I first moved to Weymouth, we used to go up on Hesil Beach, near the bird sanctuary area next to the road on the route to Portland. At the time we did not have our Greyhound, since having the dog, visits limited. But always enjoyed. The view of the Chesil and surrounding area is brilliant fron the top of Portland, a must stop view.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Trip to Chesil Beach”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The beach is amazing and how the beach appeared overnight was an amazing story to hear. Lots to see and a good day out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesil Bank (Chesil Beach) also viewed

 

Been to Chesil Bank (Chesil Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing