We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”
Review of The Nothe Tavern

The Nothe Tavern
Ranked #46 of 290 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a modern British pub serving the best in local and seasonal fresh food. Come and enjoy views of the historical Weymouth harbour. We are located in the peaceful Nothe Gardens and a short walk from the imposing Nothe Fort. We are open from 8AM for breakfast serving the Dury coffee and Tea Pigs quality infusions. Families and dogs are welcome. Try our award winning ale, sumptuous wines and home crafted menu all served with a smile and a warm welcome.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a extended family lunch time meal of 12 people. Unfortunately their carbonated drinks equipment wasn't working so they could only serve the drinks that didn't need this. They said they were trying to repair it and could serve cokes shortly. The service was appalling, trying to get the attention of the staff was almost impossible, they seemed to prefer talking to each other. No-one offered any updates on the drinks and several of the party were sitting without drinks for over 1/2 hour until we decided we would have to buy bottled drinks. During this time, no food had been served either. This used to be a busy pub, with a great atmosphere, good service and good food. Not any more I'm sorry to say. When I complained the girl who had served us wouldn't make eye contact and didn't offer any recompense or explanantion. Wouldn't go back there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We have read this review with interest coupled with confusion, for the benefit of the wider trip advisor community my comments are as follows;
Our Pepsi dispense equipment has not had a fault since its instillation in 2011; fortunately Britvic who maintain this system can confirm this.
My Husband and I work 7 days a week, so know of any problems if they arise and deal with them accordingly to achieve a satisfactory solution in order for our customers to have a valued experience with us.
We have contacted you twice now via the email service through trip advisor to discuss this, but regrettably you have not responded.
It is noted that you reviewed 5 other places on the same day you reviewed the nothe tavern, perhaps you have the wrong venue? as we are not aware of any concerns that match yours. Kind Regards, Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 438 of 601 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

For the first time in many years booked a family table for eight late afternoon Sunday 20th May. My wife and I had the carvery ( as did most if us) which was truly wonderful. Like many of Sunday lunch hunters, we have tried many pub carveries, which tend to be let down by meat portions being overly controlled . Our experience at the Nothe was refreshingly different for we were asked if we wanted even more, in addition to the most generous portion placed on our plate. The accompanying vegetables, roast potatoes etc were cooked to perfection.

For a pub tucked away from the main throng of Weymouth town to be packed out late Sunday afternoon clearly suggested that the owner/manager has tapped in to what people want, in a way that others in the same profession have not.

So from from a visitor with no connection with this pub, a big "thank you" for a really lovely carvery and meat cooked to perfection in quantities which leave all the others in the shade.

1  Thank Somme-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tucked away near the Nothe gardens, this pub/restaurant is well worth a visit. Good menu and specials, good drinks and service. There is a spectacular view over the outer harbour

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mojomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent meal with family despite it being busy. Had a delicious sea bream freshly caught and prepared. Recommended.

Thank Arienlettinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Noth Tavern for Sunday lunch with my wife and young son on a long weekend break and was certainly not disappointed with our choice!! Very pleasant little pub with friendly staff and a warm atmosphere. Opted for the carvery and what a great choice that turned out to be, best one I've ever experienced!! Delicious home cooked meats with a wide selection of tasty perfectly cooked veg!! So glad we chose to dine here and would most definitely recommend!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rew243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing