We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday carvery at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nothe Tavern

The Nothe Tavern
Ranked #60 of 277 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a modern British pub serving the best in local and seasonal fresh food. Come and enjoy views of the historical Weymouth harbour. We are located in the peaceful Nothe Gardens and a short walk from the imposing Nothe Fort. We are open from 8AM for breakfast serving the Dury coffee and Tea Pigs quality infusions. Families and dogs are welcome. Try our award winning ale, sumptuous wines and home crafted menu all served with a smile and a warm welcome.
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on here and getting some local opinions we booked a table for sunday carvery.on arrival table was reserved and ready.a little bit of a wait as fresh meats were being brought out,but worth it ! Beef was perfectly cooked,all vegetables fresh and tasty and superb gravy which i think makes a carvery complete.good value and portion size ,couldnt fault.my only slight criticism and it is slight the service needs somebody to take a firm control of and oversee,it will make all the difference.the nothe is on to a winner here thats for sure.will we be returning ? You bet !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank woodfirepizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    121
    41
    24
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab place and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had lovely lunch with a good friend. Sun shining at last, sitting in the Nothe pub's garden. Best position in Weymouth, looking over Weymouth bay and harbour. Really good jacket potato with prawns and lots of fresh salad. Like the fact that you can add your own butter and sauces. The food served to other people looked really good too! Service impeccable, smiles and politeness, but not intrusive. Had a great time

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Each time we have been, our party has increased in number, this time there was 21, aged from 1year to 86years old. The food was excellent, the beer excellent, staff friendly and attentive all of this in nice surroundings. Nice view of the harbour from the terrace .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stunning food, excellent value and service. Back street gem that is well worth searching for. Just bring your appetite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizziewhizzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We came here for my wife's birthday on 19th May. I had booked the day before and the chap kindly said he would decorate the table. It was only a coupel of balloons but still thoughtful.
They sell Ringwood beer which I am not a huge fan off but minor matter.
The staff were great and I smuggled in a birthday cake which they kindly bought to our table with plates so I could surprise her. We had a carvery and I requested "lashings of beef". The chap said I had "half a cow" on my plate when he finished, lol. It was a good amount of meat, that is for sure.
We found this place very friendly and helpful, great for families.
Def come back here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing