We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely carvers, friendly staff, warm cost atmosphere. :)”
Review of The Nothe Tavern

The Nothe Tavern
Ranked #51 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a modern British pub serving the best in local and seasonal fresh food. Come and enjoy views of the historical Weymouth harbour. We are located in the peaceful Nothe Gardens and a short walk from the imposing Nothe Fort. We are open from 8AM for breakfast serving the Dury coffee and Tea Pigs quality infusions. Families and dogs are welcome. Try our award winning ale, sumptuous wines and home crafted menu all served with a smile and a warm welcome.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely carvers, friendly staff, warm cost atmosphere. :)”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stumbled on the Nothe Tavern by accident and what a gem. The carvery was delicious and lots of lovely meat, veg and all the trimmings. Especially the pork crackling, naughty but nice. Great value and yummy puddings. Would definately visit again. A family friendly pub if we had been staying longer we would have gone back for a cosy night again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I do enjoy hearing and reading feedback where people stumbled accross the Nothe tavern and had a great time. We are off the beaten track so really do our best to ensure our guests visits are made special, as they have made the effort to visit us. Thank you for leaving this review and we will look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    135
    46
    28
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not The Nothe Tavern- should be called The Yesthe Tavern.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a meal there this evening- 8 people in total. We started our evening at the Ship Inn on Weymouth Harbourside. After a long wait for the food (which finally arrived- cold) we gave up and headed to the Nothe Tavern.

We explained the situation to the guy behind the bar and he managed to get us a table within 5 minutes (once the tables had been cleaned and cleared). Orders taken and our food arrived promptly (and was hot- unlike at The Ship).

Thoroughly impressed- other reviews mention the decor. All I will say is that I go to eat their food and talk to my dining companions, not stare at the walls and floor. It is clean, tidy and great value- what more do you want?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry132456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thankyou for choosing the Nothe Tavern, following the disappointment of the previous venue. It is very rewarding to all of us that you sought solace with us and we rescued your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been to Weymouth several times but have only just tried the nothe tavern. It is brilliant, the food is excellent as is the service.
From an access point of view the entrance has steps but once inside everything is on one level. We couldn't see a disabled toilet but there may be one.
The rear of the restaurant has a view over the harbour. There is also outside seating to the rear.
Car parking is very limited on the road outside but there is a pay and display car park across the road. The restaurant also has wi fi.
This is definitely a place we will visit again, beware this is a very popular pub so it may be wise to make a reservation

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thankyou for placing this review and we are glad you discovered us. As a point of interest our local council have intoduced a free parking scheme every evening after 6pm and all day Sunday, which includes the car park you mentioned opposite the Nothe Tavern. This runs until the end of February, hopefully you will be back in Weymouth during this time to take advantage of their generosity. We will look forward to seeing you again, many thanks, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank-you”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Weve been to Nothe tavern a few times over the last two holiday visits to the area since 2007
This time as we returned we hoped the food had not changed since our last visit.
Well it had ---only got better so we decided to eat all our evening meals here.
We felt the sevice was great and the portions very satisfying and the general atmosphere helped make a comfortable evening,
As for cost we feel the whole experience is good value for money
Steve and Gill Cootes Essex UK

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for continuing to use the Nothe Tavern on your visits to Weymouth and we are pleased you appreciate what we do and have done since 2007. We are always looking and reviewing our operation and hopefully this will maintain our continual development and improvement. We will look forward to seeong you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Pub”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really lovely pub, did not realise it was best to book a table but they fitted us in on the saturday and sunday, we felt so comfortable we booked for the week while we were in Weymouth. James, Caroline and their wonderful staff are so welcoming and the food is second to none. Our westie Toby was also given a great welcome, it is such a dog friendly pub. Just booked our holiday in weymouth for 2013 so we will be back. Thank you once again. Sue and Graham Pears and Toby.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your custom during your stay in weymouth it was a pleasure to serve you, We will definately look forwrd to seeing you on your next trip to weymouth. Kind regards James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing