We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homemade pies”
Review of Jacks Cafe

Jacks Cafe
Ranked #210 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Restaurant details
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great homemade pies”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea cannot be better, the place is cosy, friendly and the food is very good for the price. Coffee is only£1 and the great staff come round topping up for free all the time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack J, Owner at Jacks Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you mm1947
Jacks pies are all handmade at Jacks
very popular,served with mash. This weeks special pie
is Game and Winter vegetables.
Coffee £1 including refills and a doughnut or Jacks
homemade bread pudding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    7
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Since my return to live in Weymouth after a long absence I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cafes and restaurants in the town which, in my opinion, is above average. I am constantly on the search for good value for money (VFM) and it does not come any better than Jacks.

Tucked away in a little old backstreet from the outside you could mistake Jacks as a "greasy spoon" joint, but upon setting foot over the threshold and receiving a warm welcome from the superb and ever cheerful waiting staff you realise you are in a humble but classy establishment. The breakfasts are excellent and great VFM, you can get endless free refills of tea and coffee and the place is always busy and atmospheric, the closest Weymouth will ever get to a small town USA diner. Every Saturday morning I feast on the wonderful Eggs Benedict and several cups of tea while I peruse my Racing Post and I swear I pick more winners since I started using Jacks.

The menu outside of breakfasts is varied and great VFM. Pies, omelettes, salads, jacket potatoes. sandwiches and Jack's daily specials give a choice for everyone and a good, healthy options and kid's menus as well. A little quieter now that the summer season is all but over there are usually seats available though Saturday breakfast is popular and best to arrive before 0900.

An unbeatable treasure that is rapidly becoming a local legend with great food, a good atmosphere and a wonderful collection of kind, friendly and helpful staff Jacks fully deserves its obvious success.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttercupjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack J, Owner at Jacks Cafe, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
All the staff at Jacks have asked me to say thanks
for you generous review. Hope your winning streak continues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Friendly, good food and good value for money cafe, spot on.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for breakfast with my kids and had a great time,
Good food, good drink, good service with a smile, well chuffed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zxtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack J, Owner at Jacks Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Did the little ones enjoy their lollipops?
Thank you for taking time, my staff all very pleased at your
kind comments, come see us again soon
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Value & Service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Using tripadvisor to find Jacks, we popped in here one wet lunch time. The service was friendly, the food was decent, and good value for money. Its a normal english cafe, so no table booking - just walk in. Complete winner. Dont go in the 'shopping' arcade at the end of the street. It was awful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlillywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack J, Owner at Jacks Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for recommending Jacks, all the staff get a great buzz from Trip Advisor feedback.
Next time you visit, be sure to introduce yourself, coffee on the house. Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Back Street Café but well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

On a rainy August day we ducked in here after having been recommended,
Yes, it was worthy of recommendation.
Comfortable surroundings with excellent service. Drinks, snacks or meals at very reasonable prices.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack J, Owner at Jacks Cafe, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Benson
Thank you for your generous comments.
I have a great team at Jacks, they will appreciate your report.
We are off the beaten track, well known to those who know.
Postings here certainly helps to introduce new friends to Jacks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacks Cafe also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Jacks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing