We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #67 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights on a Groupon offer and when we arrived wished that we had booked more nights to make into a full week. It's a lovely house with a large beautiful back garden that guests are invited to use in suitable weather. There was a lovely welcome and the room was magnificent, spotlessly clean and warm with a large comfortable bed and a classy en-suite bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice and used top quality local produce. Some reviewers have commented that it's a little bit away from the centre of Weymouth. To us that's a benefit as there is no noisy traffic at night and as we used the accommodation as a centre to tour from there is no difficulty with town centre traffic. When we chose to visit Weymouth centre it was only an easy 5 minutes drive away. We have stayed at some lovely B and B's (and some not so nice!) but Birch House is among the very best. It is incredible value on a Groupon offer and although at full price it is not cheap, it is still good value bearing in mind the high standard of the accommodation.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house which had a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike52Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just stayed for two nights through Groupon and have to say Birch House was lovely.
The room was very tasteful and the welcome sincere. Especially liked Lola she was great. Breakfasts were plentiful and good choices. The location was a bit far out of town, but the bus service was very good. Would visit again, but only on a special offer as I feel the full price for a B & B was a bit high, even though it did rate 5 stars

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollywelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay and wow what a stay. Beautiful looking house, wonderful warm welcome from Kathy and amazing house inside. Shame someone could not have captured the look on mine and my wife's face when Kathy showed us our room, absolutely wonderful room beautifully furnished and the ensuite a joy to behold. For those of you considering a stay please don't hesitate you will not be disappointed, not only with the accommodation but the variety and wonderful breakfast, the full English is a real treat. Thank you so much Kathy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidford2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for just one night, more's the pity. What a wonderful warm home. The room was bright, very comfortable and spacious, as was the whole house, and they have a huge back garden which the guests can use. The room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated with a first class en suite bathroom. Both Kathy and Pete were gracious and welcoming, and Kathy cooked a delicious breakfast to order. They have paid a lot of attention to the small details which make this B&B a first class place to stay. Its also very easily accessed off the main road with an easy drive into the town centre, the beach and the many attractions in the Jurassic Coast area. We would highly recommend this B&B if you are visiting Weymouth.

Room Tip: Rear rooms look out onto the beautiful back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99AussieTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed three nights and we were made to feel so welcome by Kathy & Pete, it felt like staying with family. The home is beautifully refurbished and has a restful garden to relax and read a book. Our room was spotless and tastefully furnished with a lovely en-suite shower. As for breakfast - an array of beautiful fresh berries and fruit with yogurt and cereals followed by a delicious high quality full english or variations as requested cooked to perfection by the very talented Kathy. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOLDFINCH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in August with my teenage son and his friend before heading on to camp bestival. We arrived early evening and the house is just gorgeous. Our room was extremly spacious with the furnishings excellent quality and super stylish. Our room was a terrible and i was concerned the 3 rd bed would be small and uncomfortable but it was fantastic. We were told we could make use of the sitting area an outdoor area which was equally stunning. We loved meeting the dog and chickens.

We slept really well and our breakfast the following morning didnt disappoint. The breakfast menu had everything and more that you would expect and my poached eggs were delicious.

Overall a fantastic stay and i would return in a minute. Only slight downside was that the room was pretty dusty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jengajedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner, dog, and myself stayed here for 1 night this weekend. We had a lovely time, the hospitality was great Kathy and Peter were both lovely and welcoming.
It's quite close to the beach/harbour only a 5 minute drive which was very handy.
The house is absolutely beautiful, much better than a normal b&b, it was very clean. The decor is lovely ... Making me want to revamp my home!

I highly recommend you to everyone going to Weymouth that this is the perfect place to stay, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 166 in Weymouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 166 in Weymouth
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#62 of 166 in Weymouth
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cottage
The Cottage
#57 of 166 in Weymouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31 Icen Road, Weymouth DT3 5JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $120 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Birch House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birch House is our lovely,5 star, Civic Award winning home in the Radipole area of Weymouth close to the RSPB Bird Reserve with sea glimpses of Weymouth Bay. We offer a warm welcome and friendly service. All rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated to a very high standard. Ren products supplied for toiletries. We are a 15-20 minute walk to Greenhill beach through the Lodmoor Country Park. We can collect guests from the railway station, if required, which is only a 5 minute drive away. The garden has been designed by Chelsea Award winner, Michelle Brown and offer guests a welcome retreat during their stay.We welcome walkers and cyclists and have facilities for storage and drying of equipment. Packed lunches are available on request. We offer a fantastic breakfast menu sourced from local suppliers in Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Birch House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch House Bed And Breakfast Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing