We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but disappointed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have been coming to West Fleet for quite a few years now, and have had some really good times. We have always been pleased with the politeness of the staff and general tidiness of the site especially the toilets/showers. We brought some friends this year with their dog and they thought it was brilliant, especially because of the location and the fact they could take the dog into the clubhouse. But on the downside in paddock D, apart from the late night drinkers with uncontrollable kids that were warned about their inconsiderate behaviour (see previous reviews, they should've been chucked off!)the pitches conjured up memories of that awful year at Glastonbury! Please whoever is in charge, factor in some drainage into the budget! This is only negative to the site that we want to keep returning too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank vangoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Sorry that your visit was less enjoyable than you would have liked due to some noisy neighbours and the exceptionally wet weather.

Those responsible for the noise were informed that they were disturbing other guests and some in their family required to leave early. Please rest assured that none of the others will be returning to this park, or any other in this area. The park staff do all that they can to ensure people's sleep is not disturbed, including by the widespread promotion of our quiet nights policy - which all customers are made aware of both at the time of booking and on arrival. For reasons of safety we also expect bbqs to be extinguished by 11 pm. Those who ignore requests to abide by the terms of booking that they have agreed to will be issued with warning notices and/or required to leave without refund. (This does not always make staff popular, but the park is determined to ensure that the behaviour of a very small minority does not spoil the enjoyment of others.)

On the issue of drainage. Additional drains were put into the area you have described last year. On this occasion, it was simply that a lot of rain fell in a short period when numbers on the park were already high.

Again, please rest assured that the park owners are looking at what actions can be taken to remedy the issue, but this is the first time in over 40 years of operation that the weather and ground conditions have been that wet for the Whitsun half-term.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

stayed last week. have been here before and campsite was as good as before. the pool is lovely and personally never experienced the rudeness other reviewers had. the shop on site was well stocked and can get a discount ticket for sea life there. the downside was the camping fields become very boggy during the week and there are no paths up the fields so you do end up quite muddy so would recommend wellies. the washrooms are excellent and somehow stayed clean despite the mud. the entertainment is quite low key don't expect haven style non stop but the bar allows dogs in which is a handy when the weather is bad and you want out of the tent ! didn't try food but looked good.

Room Tip: take wellies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rod b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments and very glad you enjoyed your stay despite the wet weather during half-term. This area had several inches of rain in that short period - traditionally one of the busiest of the camping park year for family holidays, especially as it includes the Bank Holiday weekend. Inevitably, that volume of rain after a very wet winter makes ground conditions difficult to manage, but in over 40 years of operating this is the first time such heavy rain has coincided with the Whitsun half-term spring peak. Ironically, in the two weeks prior to half-term, when weather and pitch conditions were perfect, the park had very few customers - families or otherwise.

Under normal circumstances, the main routes around the camping park, which are concrete or tarmac, are more than adequate to allow vehicles and people to circulate around the park with ease and then to park and drive on the grass by their pitches without difficulty, but the high volume of water combined with the high loading of traffic (both vehicular and pedestrian) did make some parts of the park muddy and tricky for drivers. Where possible customers in the wettest spots were offered the opportunity to move to drier areas, although many preferred to stay put.

Some camping parks do have and sell hard standing pitches for tents and caravans for an additional fee. At the moment West Fleet doesn't have any and many of our customers come specifically because there aren't any, preferring a more natural approach to their camping, which the grass paddocks, hedges and drystone walls at West Fleet provide. Indeed West Fleet only sells "standard grass pitches" or "grass pitches with an electric hook-up". Providing a metalled road or path to every pitch would involve a lot of additional concrete or tarmac, which may not be to every one's liking.

Ultimately, camping is an outdoor activity and consequently dependent on the weather. We can't control the latter, but the park staff do try very hard to manage whatever our climate throws at us in the hope that customers have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you again for your comments and for your understanding of the difficulties that the very wet weather presented. Here's hoping the weather is kinder to all for your next camping trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Do not stay here unless you are a mute or have no sense of humour! You are not allowed to make any noise whatsoever without a creepy man with a torch coming upto your tent at night to tell you off. Scared the kids to death!! No music allowed even in the day and no laughter allowed. Poor kids couldn't enjoy themselves what a waste of money!!! Pitched were awful all water logged. Our cars were stuck so had nowhere to go! Slept in a mud bath all week don't feel like I've had a holiday. Staff were extremely rude and argued with my friends and family as our kids were singing and dancing at the end of the disco. Poor kids. They must have extremely miserable kids and no friends. Ruined our stay thanks!!!! Don't stay here waste if money!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank XxHaylsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

All complaints about noise are investigated and those who fail to comply with reasonable requests not to disturb other customers are required to leave and will not be permitted to return whether they want to or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just came back from a holiday I too feel the same as the previous lady but have things to add!! I took my 1 year old for there first holiday as I didn't want to take him abroad lets just say I wish I had! On many occasions I was found changing my babies bottom on the dirty toilet floors as with the help of other campers as there was only 1 changing unit which was in the laundrette for all the world to see him! Which also didn't open till 8.30 am and closed at 8pm! The campsite was that bad the only place he could crawl about was either on the kids play field which they started to put campers there!!!! Or the bar which I was then approached by the bartender mrs Roberts and was told my child was running a muck, never had such an awful holiday, was pitched furthest away from any facilities and had to carry the pram across fields as was not able to push through the sludge lets just say I wept like a baby when I got home xx don't go especially with children there not welcome!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie85mieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

There are four baby changing facilities at West Fleet in addition to two dedicated family bathrooms, each with toilet, shower, sink, bath and underfloor heating. The park is independently graded to the AA three pennant standard, with the new toilet and shower facilities built to a much higher standard. West Fleet is a family park to which many hundreds of families bring their children for a peaceful and enjoyable holiday each year. Camping is, nevertheless, an outdoor activity and can, therefore, be dependent on the weather and the people you camp next to. The park has no control over the weather, and rain has a tendency to make things wet wherever it may fall. However the park does have control over the people that are permitted to camp. Those whose behaviour is disorderly, whether out on the park or in the bar, will be required to leave, and by law, if they are asked to do so, they must. The park and its staff are committed to ensuring that the enjoyment of the vast majority of customers (whether adults or children) is not undermined by a very small minority who find it difficult to stick to simple rules that are agreed to at the time of booking as part of the terms and conditions. Thousands of people each year come to West Fleet, enjoy their stay and have no problems whether changing or looking after their children or sticking to rules set to ensure everyone has a safe and enjoyable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just got back from a weeks holiday with my children did not enjoy the stay the lady who owns the pub mrs Roberts was just horrible she raised her voice at me saying my children had drown out the music from the disco even tho they wer by the games machines and wer being quiet up till the disco had finished then all the children from pub got on stage and started singing frozen all the parents enjoyed it taking photos of their kids having fun an playing together as the weather had been horrible and the pitch was ankle high with sludgy mud they wer making the most of it I will not be returning to this site ever again and will be recommending friends and family to stay clear of this place rubbish facilities and extremely rude staff glad to be back home !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 123Jamielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Whilst children remain the responsibility of their parents whilst on the park, we do not expect them to behave in a manner which is detrimental to the enjoyment of other guests and their children or to the safe operation of any of the facilities (for example by climbing over chairs and tables whilst staff are trying to clean them). If customers are asked to moderate the behaviour of their children, we do not consider it an unreasonable expectation that they will cooperate or that, when asked to leave the bar because it is closing, that customers will do so without our staff having to call other enforcement authorities. Those who do behave in this way can expect to find themselves barred not only from this park, but others in the area too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just come back from a family holiday with 11 adults and 8 children, decided to camp here as we were under the impression it was a family orientated camp site which was not the case the pitches were awful completely sodden with no proper paths which resulted in us been trapped several times and having to push the cars off the fields just to go out, the staff were extremely rude to all of us at all times of the day and night especially the manager rocky who has no concept of customer satisfaction she just wants your money then doesn't care about making the stay enjoyable, making rude comments about parenting skills and the children. The shower blocks were ok but not the best the hot water would run out and you would have to wait 15 minutes for it to come back on and the same with the bath even at 8am when they open. The guy that comes round at night is an extremely rude and intimidating man who walks around the tents shining his torch at you and imposing on your personal space which made us all very uneasy especially with young children sleeping in the tents. If i was you do not go to this site as the children are not allowed to play or make any noise at anytime of the day and parents are unable. to have fun without been criticised for been a bad parent. DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY GO SOMEWHERE YOU WILL FEEL WELCOME.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kaz1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

West Fleet Holiday Farm is a family camping park to which many families bring their children every year for an enjoyable and peaceful holiday. It is our policy to always investigate complaints from customers about noise and disturbance especially those that occur during the park's stated quiet time of 11 pm to 8 am. The park is also patrolled at night to ensure that customers are not disturbed by noise from people whose sole consideration is their own enjoyment, regardless of what impact it may be having on the enjoyment of others. Our customers and staff have a right to enjoy their holiday and fulfil their duties without being disturbed or abused by customers who have been politely requested to comply with the park's stated quiet nights policy.

For reasons of safety, the park's code of conduct also requires that BBQs are fully extinguished by 11 pm to minimise the risk of CO poisoning, fire and contact burns to children or adults moving around their camping area at night. Customers may be asked to extinguish BBQs still burning after hours.

We make no apology for protecting the enjoyment and safety of the majority of our customers by implementing our published code of conduct. Nor do we apologise for ensuring that its terms and conditions are enforced, either by our staff or other authorities as may be necessary.

Children remain the responsibility of parents whilst they are on the park, but we have an expectation that their behaviour will be managed in such a way that it does not spoil the enjoyment of others. Clambering over walls or tables in the club, for example, or being left to run amok and unsupervised whether on the park or on the private properties neighbouring it is never going to be OK.

Fair to say that customers who think this sort of behaviour is acceptable, are not welcome at West Fleet., nor any other camping park in this area, either now or any time in the foreseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2013. The price was very reasonable ! Very clean campsite, didn't use the pool as I had my dog but it looked great. The showers etc we're clean and staff very often checking. Even has baths available which I haven't seen before. Ate at the bar and food was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The campsite rules are great as after 11 it's quiet so you can get a good nights sleep. I did get reminded to keep my dog on the lead outside the tent which I completely understand as some dogs aren't as friendly! I will definitely be returning. Close to Weymouth and the beautiful area ! I have a very large 8 man tent but the pitches were very large so still had plenty of room for car etc outside. Best campsite I've been to !

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank tashp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your views to the rest of the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.1 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite

Address: Fleet, Weymouth DT3 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Also Known As:
West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing