We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay Guest House
Ranked #40 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Took a long shot on this one as it was booked by a colleague whose track record hasn't been great! Very comfortable B&B with a good breakfast which was served early for us as we were working. The rooms were clean and nicely presented. As others have said, the ensuite was compact, but this is typical of many other places I've stayed, and it was well stocked with essentials. The acid test - would I stay there again next time I'm working in the area? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    38
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
35
114
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very clean and comfortable, we had the family room which had everything you could think of. Ensuite shower and bathroom, tea and coffee in room. Breakfast was great with wonderful service and very friendly and helpful. The downside it was freezing outside (waht do you expect in Febuary) but it was wonderful walking along the esplanade. Great location with parking at the rear. We had a great time and would recommend the Bay to anyone and we would have no hesitation in booking again?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely little B&B (homely) on the esplanade, good hospitality and helpful. clean and comfortable stay, wanted for nothing in the room. Didn't have breakfast (my choice as working in the area working and it was to early for me to eat) Parking was handy (back of the property)location is good, short walk into town, definately would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

having now stayed at this B&B, I think the 1 or 2 who are giving bad reviews, do it anywhere they stay hoping for compensation!!!!
I cannot fault the friendly greeting, the breakfast which was more than enough! you only had to ask.
clean and comfortable room, the extras in the shower (just in case you forgot your shampoo)
made an impression.
and although you might have to juggle your car a bit, the onsite parking rather than a permit on the main road was a bonus!!

Room Tip: ask the landlady?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for only one night but wish we had more time to explore and enjoy the hospitality at this great B&B. nothing to complain about lovely room, very clean throughout, fab breakfast and central to all Weymouth has to offer. Owners helpful without being intrusive and it make me wonder why we sometimes stay in the large chain hotels which are more expensive and do not offer this level of service. Would definitely recommend Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayetaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My other half and I stayed here for 2 nights to see family and not have to worry about rushing home (allowing for the consumption of alcohol).
We both found the owners to be polite, helpful and very personable. The breakfast was of a high standard and with lots of choice. The room was well decorated with a super comfy bed. The en-suite was a good size considering all rooms are en-suite.
All-in-all we would definately return and would suggest this to others wishing to visit Weymouth.

Room Tip: We had room number1 which was good as the first up the staircase, handy when coming and going. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Booked for my wedding anniversary, cosy night in a b&b... You know the plan.
This was not the case!!!
Shouting and swearing from a man, banging doors what felt like all night! My wife was terrified and cried most of the night.
brilliant anniversary, maybe next time we could try Baie Route?
The "bathroom" was great I could shower and urinate all at once.


Breakfast was very um... Limited? 1 sausage 1 bacon rasher.
If you are brave enough to go for a 2nd helping of fruit you might just get your hands struck.

I won't be returning and would advise people don't even entertain the idea of staying at this "4star" establishment.

With all Weymouth has to offer, choose elsewhere.

1 positive the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tizandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Molyneux Guest House
Molyneux Guest House
#80 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arcadia Guest House
Arcadia Guest House
#33 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Guest House
Beachcomber Guest House
#92 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
0.1 mi away
Letchworth Guest House
Letchworth Guest House
#10 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Guest House

Property: The Bay Guest House
Address: 10 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing