We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at The Bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Guest House
Ranked #41 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found Jean a very good host who made us feel very welcome, the room that we had was clean and presented well, the on suite facillites were small and cramped and the shower was hard to operate and get to the right temperture, but we got there in the end. We did however find lipstick on one of the cups in the room. As with other reviewers the bed was one of the best we have ever slept in and very comfortable, the biscuits and the choccies were a nice touch on the courtesy tray.
We had requested a sea view room and were given a room at the rear even though the guest house only had one other couple.
The room cost of £70.00 seemed high compared with other guest house and also dearer than the ones actually on the sea front, the web site stated that the price was down from £140.00????? But as this was almost last minute we were not able to book into these.
Breakfast was served at 08-30 and there was a very good choice of cereals, juices and yoghurts etc; the only complaint about the breakast was that we were not asked what we required and a cooked full English just appeared when all we required was a couple of poached eggs and some kippers saying that, the breakfast was very good, but not really what we wanted, we were just not asked.
The night was quiet until a few rowdies came along the back road but this was not down to The Bay and we soon got off to sleep again. We had no trouble with parking at the rear as we were the only couple with a vehicle that we saw, but this could get busy at high season.

Room Tip: Room one was quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaKe2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

We just stayed the one night at the end of February, as we fancied a night away. The room was very lovely and exceptionally clean, and the bed was comfortable too. We picked the guest house, because it was slightly away from the town centre, and despite overhearing an argument between another couple staying below us, the area and room in general was quiet, and without the usual saturday night disruptions.
Breakfast was very tasty, and there was plenty of choice. The only thing missing from the cooked breakfast was mushrooms! Also, breakfast is only served between 8:30-9, which is quite limiting, especially at the weekend.
Overall though, a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Jean the owner gave us a very warm welcome, Our room was at the front of the house on the second floor. it was very clean, every thing you could need, The bed was the best we have ever slept in apart for our own. WiFi is easy to connect to. The Breakfast was superb, the location is Ideal for all amenities. Lodmoor park one way and Weymouth shops and beach the other. No need to drive the car. we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is the first guest house that I have stayed in for many years, I usually prefer hotels. I was very suprised at the high standard of this guest house. The bedroom was very comfortable though a bit small, but was warm and cosy, the bed was comfy, the en-suite was tiny but very clean, the water pressure wasn't good. TV in the room, tea making facilities with biscuits and chocolate mints.............very nice.
The owner Jean was a very nice and chatty person, she was helpful,polite and friendly, not the same that could be said for her husband, a rude foulmouthed pig, fortunately she keeps him downstairs away from the guests, one thing that is good, is that he cooks a smashing breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our stay at the Bay Guest House started on a good note with a very warm welcome from Jean the owner of the guest house.
Jean is exremely friendly,informative and could not do enough for us during our stay
The room was of a large proportions with plenty of space.The room was immaculate and the room was extremely clean.
The bathroom was lovely and clean and was plenty big enough even for my six foot three husband.There is a selection of toiletries in the bathroom which were replenished daily and included soaps,shampoo,conditioner and body lotions
The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom was warm,the room got a little too hot but this was quickly sorted as there was individual controls on the heaters so simply turned the heater down
There is a large flat screen tv in the guest rooms
There is a courtesy tray with a selection of teas,coffees and biscuits and the tray was replenished each day
The breakfast is plentiful and with plenty of selection
There was a selection of three fruit juices,carafes of coffee or pots of tea
There was a selection of cereals,muesli,yoghurts and grapefruit
A full english breakfast is served which consists of sausage,bacon,hash browns,baked beans,fried bread,eggs,tomatoes and fried bread. The breakfast is a feast and is well cooked and presented by George,Jeans husband.
This was our fourth stay at this guest house and each stay is better than the last and we willl be back as soon as possible

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HellsBellsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

If you are passing through briefly, this B&B will be OK

The Bathroms are Very small and cramped.

I believe that £42 was overpriced for out of season.

I did not eat there so you wil have to try for yourself.

The TV in the rooms were large and offer Freeview

I would not stay there again at that price.

Room Tip: if you are tall dont accept an attic room as you will skull yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01goatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at The Bay guest house for a couple of nights.The room was very clean and comfortable.Jean was very friendly and provided a lovely breakfast.The guest house had parking spaces for eight cars which was ideal for us as we were able to leave the car there whilst we had a day trip to Jersey on the Condor ferry. We will hope to book this guest house again next year when we visit this area again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#75 of 166 in Weymouth
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
#13 of 166 in Weymouth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 166 in Weymouth
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aaran Guesthouse
Aaran Guesthouse
#69 of 166 in Weymouth
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#25 of 166 in Weymouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Guest House

Address: 10 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $92 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing