We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two night new year break with kids. It's a two day package which is not cheap but ends up good value with the great food and lavish child care. Great visit despite ghastly weather. Staff very attentive throughout stay. Food really excellent at all times with particularly fab New Year's Eve dinner. An excellent wine tasting for grown ups in the afternoon. Kids loved the assault course. A little money has been spent on the property this year and it has been wisely spent. The play barn kit is smarter than it was with a sensible fenced off area for under 5s and another cordoned off area for sponge ball football. Both great. The swimming pool is still slightly grotty with a leaky roof but the changing rooms have been tidied up and there were plenty of inflatables to play with in the pool. For kids to have a good pool play it's great. All round it is a great place to visit with kids and having escaped the clutches of the expansionist and up market aspiring von Essen group it is now in the safe hands of the original founders of the luxury family hotel group who understand what is important - friendly staff, good food and drink and great facilities for kids. A bit grotty here and there is fine if the basics are solid. And they are. We will be back very soon.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear ADL79,

Thank you very much for contributing a review to Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your New Year break.

The feedback for what we have been trying to do this year has been great, but we know that there are always areas for improvement, but I totally agree that if the basics of hospitality are rooted in the Hotels culture, then good things are the usual outcome!

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014!

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Moonfleet Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 655 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a lovely two night break recently with our children. We stayed in interconnecting rooms which were great; comfortable beds and pillows, decent shower in one room and a good sized bath in the other, TVs and DVD players in each room. Shabby chic is the look but some of the couches in the public lounges really could be more comfortable; one needs mending! However it's great sitting round the fire enjoying drinks. The evening meals were absolutely delicious (breakfast not so good) and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. A highlight for the children were the two indoor pools and the soft play centre. The other highlight for them was Snoopy the hotel dog, and there are nice touches like the 'cinema' for the kids at 6pm and 8pm. The hotel offers a Sunday morning creche and collect your kids from the room at 8am. We thought this was a good idea but the children were not impressed by the staff, the breakfast - just a bowl of cereal - or being sat in front of the tv until collection time. If we'd known we could have sent them in their PJs but we were told to dress them so it rather defeated the object of a lie in! The staff could have been a little more imaginative with the kids so we wouldn't recommend it. Some of the other reviews have complained about the hotel being pricey. It is expensive, and the fact that the children's breakfast is an extra cost seems a bit penny-pinching considering the overall cost of the weekend. Overall, we had a good, relaxing time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank TheRelaxationClinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear TheRelaxationClinic,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely stay.

The Sunday Morning Breakfast Club is a great idea, that has been very warmly recieved by our guests. We do offer a full continental selection, including toast & preserves, juices, yoghurts, muffins, pastries and fruit salad as well as cereals. We also have a selection of activities for all children to take part in, across a wide age spectrum, so we are genuinely at a loss about the TV comment. That said, we are always happy to review what we do.

Children's breakfast is included in the rate in 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet soon!

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a lovely hotel...this place ticked every box for us from the minute the owner (?), Snoopy, trotted out to greet us in the car-park. For us, it is important that 'dog-friendly' means more than 'dogs-tolerated', but at the same time, we don't want to give-up on great food and other luxuries. Moonfleet Manor achieved a great balance of relaxed elegance, good food, excellent service and unflustered dog-friendliness. It's worth pointing out that much of the entertainment here is aimed at the children so while the decor reminds you of a gentleman's club in the raj, you should not expect a library-like hush. We didn't stray too far, but we managed several walks along the edge of the Fleet, and one outing to nearby Lulworth Cove. We were extremely well-looked after by the dining staff, enjoying pre-dinner drinks in front of roaring fires. Food and wine were consistently good. This 3-day break was everything we hoped for; a very comfortable room, great food and first-rate service - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanS402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear DuncanS402,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

The whole team are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

You did touch on a great point and that is that, whilst we are predominently a Family Friendly Hotel, we do offer a great experience for a non-family guest as well!

Thank you for coming to see us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After watching the excellent tv drama 'Moonfleet' and whilst staying close by, we decided to take a trip to Moonfleet manor. On arrival the setting was perfect and the lounges tastefully decorated in keeping with what one would expect. But having decided to stay for lunch we taken into a dining room that could not have been less in keeping. The room was filled with metal patio furniture and white table cloths which made it look bland and totally uninviting. The lunch menu was very limited and quite boring although the food chosen was delicious and attractively served. The waitresses were efficient and very pleasant. I have no doubt that this hotel is very popular especially during the summer months due to the outside areas and the swimming pool, however I feel it cries out for a more authentic look in keeping with its name.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Gillian H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your brief time with us and that my team delivered great food and great service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is great. The staff are very friendly, the food is excellent and the facilities for kids are fabulous. The location is also great - Dorset is stunning and this hotel is well located to explore the great beaches and restaurants it has to offer.

I do wonder however whether it offers good value. We took advantage of a special offer and I thought it was still quite expensive. Had we paid the rack rate, I don't think I'd have felt we got good value, particularly when a cappuccino at breakfast is only available by paying a supplement!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulliver73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear gulliver73,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly staff, our great food, the plethora of facilities on site and our amazing location.

We all have our own internal value for money compass and our own preferences, so it is impossible for a hotel to be all things to all people.

I agree that we are not a budget destination, but when you consider what you get included in your package for no extra charge, I think it is hard to find a comparable holiday or short break destination in the UK. Complimentary Creche, Table Tennis, Skittles, Air Hockey, Table Football, Pool Tables, an under 5's soft play area, Indoor Trampolines, Indoor football pitch and a swimming pool, baby listening - all free to use.

I hope, therefore, on balance, Moonfleet does tick more boxes than it doesn't! We do look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in 2014.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This year we splashed out on a Christmas break at Moonfleet manor. It was just lovely. Carol singers and mulled wine on Christmas eve followed by a lovely dinner (in peace as our son was in the den - the supervised creche) Christmas morning had a reindeer hunt all over the hotel - once we'd found 8 reindeer we were given a clue to find Santa in his grotto who had present for all! Christmas dinner was amazing. Over the 3 days there was a kid's entertainer, a balloon modeller, plenty of swimming and games, fine dining and all the drinks you could want.

The staff are all brilliant - always helpful, friendly and good with the kids. The resident dog was also a big hit with our son. The food was delicious. The room was clean and comfortable. The house itself has a bizarre range of artifacts and wall decorations. A bit quirky, but it seems to work.

All in all a memorable Christmas and we'll definitely try and find a way to come back - maybe during the summer so that we can explore more of the local area!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear oliya23,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Christmas is such a special time at Moonfleet and we are so pleased to hear that you had such a great time.

We really look forward to seeing you again in the summer!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is at the end of a long drive so no passing traffic only the estuary and the sea beyond Chesil bank, the downstairs is very inviting with log fires and comfortable sofa's and chairs, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, drinks, snacks are bought to you. Breakfast and dinner were extremely good. The hotel and rooms are very clean. Our room was a double, with a large bed, the bedroom was perfectly functional but not mind blowing. The facilities particularly for children are great, three swimming pools with a well thought out changing room, outdoor park and football, indoors,The Verandah has bikes, games, tennis, football, air hockey etc and sofa's to relax on and look out to sea, you can also have refreshments delivered, the hotel does have a weird mix of furniture and objet d'art. There is a crèche with lots of activities and a baby listening service, as we did not use either so I can not comment on them. Our only downside was a Christmas party which was taking place beneath our room and until eleven p.m we were subjected to music blaring and people screaming, perfectly acceptable to have a party just a shame that with a small child we have been given a room above it. Overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laughoutloudlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Laughoutloudlisa,

many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased that you had such a lovely time with us, despite a noisy bunch below. Resta assured that the feedback is noted!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to moonfleet very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
485 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $137 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing