We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arranged to stay at Moonfleet to celebrate our anniversary (with the children) and were not disappointed. We were arriving late on Friday and when we rang to say we were delayed, they arranged for room service to be brought to our room on arrival as we would miss dinner. The room was huge - and lovely. We ate the the restaurant the following night and thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend - a shame to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williams76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Williams76,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope it helped to make your anniversary special.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 679 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Moonfleet Manor is in what appears to be a beautiful remote part of coast in Dorset but in fact is only a 10 minute drive from bustling seaside town Weymouth with its beautiful sandy bay. It is lovingly run as a family hotel with some exceptional facilities but at the same time includes old fashioned charm of a Manor hotel with beautiful antiques and pictures in the lounges and corridors. This hotel is particularly well equipped for families with its own creche, an indoor pool with separate swimming and play areas and a massive indoor play space that has many interesting things for children of different ages from a soft play area to indoor football and trampolines. Other family facilities include a special children's dinner which is included and a baby listening service through the hotel phone system so the adults can enjoy the excellent restaurant in the evening. In good weather there is a beautiful terrace and grounds around the house with more play areas to explore, and the hotel dog Snoopy is always at hand for a cuddle. Staff in the hotel and children's facilities are very friendly and helpful, only in the restaurant it's a bit mixed and they had to be reminded of dietary requirements several times. Overall a highly recommended hotel and a special recommendation for families.

Room Tip: For families there are rooms that are interlinked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tillmann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Tillmann L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed so many of the facilities we have to offer.

We do hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Me and my fiancé visited Moonfleet Manor with the view to booking our wedding. Upon arrival we were stunned with the beauty and thought such a unique place would be perfect for our wedding. However, we then had to wait a full 45 mins for the manager to arrive to show us around. When he finally did arrive, he made it quite clear that he thought Moonfleet Manor was out of our price range.

He very briefly showed us around for a mere 10 minutes, not talking through any options or asking us about our big day at all. This is supposed to be the happiest and most exciting time of our lives and the way we were treated was disgusting. I will not be recommending this place at all.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear HayleyB,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to hear this opinion, but I do remember the events in a very different way.

We try to show as much as we possibly can on showrounds, but this is dictated by business levels at the time. An average showround would take in the region of half an hour or possibly more, so I am sorry that your recollection is much less than this.

Our culture is one of inclusion and so we never make judgements about people who come and see us. Again, I am afraid that I disagree with your recollection.

I am sorry that you have the opinion that you have, but please accept our best wishes for your special day and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was great, we had a lovely time. Your staff are fantastic and we would not hesitate to come back. I thought the accommodation in the coach house worked brilliantly for a family of 5 and the Sunday morning breakfast club for the kids was genius. Thank you and we hope to return to Moonfleet sometime.

PS the crab cake was utterly delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_L733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear R_L733,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay will us.

The crab cakes are one of our most popular dishes and chef has perfected them over a number of years. The recipe can be found on our facebook page if you want to give it a go at home!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I took our three children (1,4,6) for a break at the end of term. We had fantastic accommodation, 3 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms in the coachhouse. The whole experience was very relaxing (except for a few service issues which were addressed satisfactorily at the time). The hotel itself is great, with a wonderful crèche and 3 swimming pools of differing depths enabling my husband to take all 3 children swimming on his own. The location is so quiet and lovely. The food was good although it might be nice to have a few specials on in the evenings as we had the same menu five nights running. However, the children's supper at 5pm was genius - no ordering and waiting around for food to arrive but a wonderful hot buffet and pudding with excellent and healthy choices. This week has created wonderful memories for our family from playing cricket on the front lawn with our son (and other families joining in to field!) to watching our children run free with new found friends. Our six year old at the end of one of the days said "I think this has been the best day of my life" so sweet. Thanks Moonfleet we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear TillyG73,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 6 days with us.

Thank you for your feedback regarding Dinner - We are working on our menu's to ensure that there is a wide choice of items so that guests staying more than a few nights have plenty of choices.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at moonfleet manor for 2 nights on the 'midweek special' deal and had a wonderful time. The room (Meade Faulkner) was very large and had plenty of room for a travel cot and single bed. It was also cool which in the heat wave was ideal!
The staff were fantastic and very accommodating of the children- they sterilised bottles for the baby and catered for my daughter's dietary requirements, as well as coping with childish foibles like needing a drink and toast at bedtime! The high tea set up for children was a lovely idea and again the staff were friendly and chatty with the children. I think that the relaxed approach to children at the hotel had a knock on effect of actually making the children better behaved as there was no pressure or stress.
We used the swimming pool during our visit and the garden but did not use the other facilities as there is so much to do in the vicinity. We will definitely be returning to moonfleet manor as we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2c2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear 2c2c,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break with us.

Keep an eye out on our website and Facebook page for special offers and updates.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A surprisingly lovely hotel set well away from the South Coast crowds. Very comfortable rooms, a friendly welcome and nice grounds to walk around in and take in the view of Chesil beach. It is definitely towards the luxury end of the market! Each room appears to have its own character so feel free to discuss them with the reception when you book.

This is a "family friendly" hotel so there are often quite a lot of kids around but this didn't seem to be disturbing.

We didn't use the spa or pool but it looks nice. Great collection of DVDs and game to use in the hallway.

Food
The dinner is worthy of a good London restaurant and considering the hotel is in the middle of nowhere I definitely recommend that you take the half board option when booking - it's quite a lot cheaper. Breakfast is also very tasty and varied - don't leave it too late before you come down.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lady Noble room. The veiw wasn't great but the bathroom as enchanting as the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the food.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
502 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,117 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $146 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing