We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent full afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent full afternoon tea”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We attended Moonfleet Manor due to a Tesco voucher offer that we were unable to use on a trip away. Local to Dorset this was one of the limited venues that had signed up to the 'Tea for Two' scheme.
Knowing this as a very child friendly hotel we were a bit dubious on a very hot Sunday afternoon, but were pleasantly surprised. Very well furnished hotel and residents who supervised very well behaved youngsters. Staff were friendly and efficient, and we were ourselves supervised by the canine resident, the appropriately named Snoopy.
The afternoon tea supplied was excellent. Sometimes voucher offers fall below expectations, but this was better that the only other such formal tea that we can compare with. Sandwiches with the crusts removed (traditionally), two fruit scones and cream & jam each. To replace cakes, we were given three individual desserts Per person. A lemon posset, a jelly and a mousse/sponge and accompanying compote. All washed down by flavoursome, leaf tea.
Very difficult to move from the comfy sofas, for all the right reasons.
Although we did not stay here, or dine formally, our overall impression was very good. If just considering afternoon tea, book in advance, take your time, and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaddspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear gaddspam,

Thank you taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. Our chef is particularly delighted as we only recently changed our Afternoon Tea offering, so you feedback is much appreciated.

We do hope that you will use the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    211
    70
    41
    16
See reviews for
379
147
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a superb time with the 2 boys (aged 1 & 3), some unexpected time off so had to make the most of it! A mid-week break in term time so nice and quiet. The treatments were excellent, Massage for myself which left me very relaxed. We left the kids in the creche for 2 hours one afternoon and simply enjoyed a glass of prosecco on the lawn.

The indoor play area was great, a chance to get out of the sun for the kids and have a bit of fun on the air hockey table and play with the vehicles. If you get a chance visit Abbotsbury and drive down to Chesil Beach - fantastic views (although be prepared for the steep car park charge!)

We had a great stay and are recommending this to our friends as we felt it beats hands down one of those "CP" places for children the age ours are. We're already trying to plan when my holiday time will permit our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Tim C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night, what a fabulous find it was. One of the few hotels I have booked for one night and wanted to stay a week, lovely sunny weekend meant dinner and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea. Lovely warm welcome from Snoopy who is gorgeous!! The food is second to none. Beautiful dinner by candlelight and very well cooked and presented breakfast. The staff are friendly and attentive and although extremely child friendly we were not disturbed by any of them there is so much for them to do, they were all very well behaved. This hotel has lots of great facilities for couples and families alike. Reception team are extremely helpful and we were given a guided tour before being shown up to our room. Truly can't fault this weekend and look forward to returning very soon :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Grace, an attic room with the biggest bathroom I've ever seen, it was a fabulous ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanloje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Hanloje,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Keep an eye on our Facebook and Twitter for updates on the hotel and Snoopy and also special offers.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a last minute Saturday night away for midsummer. The hotel staff were friendly, although in the restaurant we didn't see the same waiter twice. Family friendly but relaxing for adults too (children have to eat before 7.30). On the coast path (as it runs behind Chesil Beach).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lath012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lath012,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My Partner and I were looking for a romantic, relaxing break, and we certainly found it at Moonfleet Manor. A wonderful old manor house with superb views of Chesil Beach and Fleet Water. Although there were children there enjoying their holiday they were so well managed that it did not impinge on our enjoyment of this great hotel. A special thanks to the reception staff ( Dawn ) who certainly went above and beyond to make sure a special surprise was awaiting my Partner upon arrival. The service was excellent overall, being attentive but not intrusive. The food and service was also excellent. We would most certainly recommend the Moonfleet Manor to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Elzivere ( I think that's the correct spelling) has a beautiful bay window view of Chesil Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are pleased your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I have stayed at Moonfleet on a number of occasions and it never fails to surprise us how lovely the staff and hotel is, we love the location also as there is so much to do in nearby Weymouth, Chesil beach is just a stones throw away and definitely worth a visit! This hotel has a special significance for us as we stumbled across it on a family holiday when we were just fifteen and ten years later we came back as man and wife.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear James D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again the future.

Kind Regards

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattistock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel room we had the Meade Faulkner room which was in the front of the hotel overlooking car park. Double aspect full of light & character. Our room was full of shabby furniture, but was comfortable. The floor slopped which made you feel like you had motion problems. The bathroom facilities clean neat &n tidy. Luxury toiletry brands & oh so thick and cozy towels used. The breakfast meals were plentiful, however the staff tended to forget that they had taken our order on some days. Cooked breakfasts were varied & continental as an alternative were comprehensive. Loved the compote of berries (yum). The pastries were exquisite.
The restaurant service was slow & no one told us there was an alternative menu of lighter bites. So only ate from the restaurant once as very expensive.

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet as the hotel is located on tucked away site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniselthorne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear deniselthorne3,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding service in the restaurant, we will work with staff to help them ensure that order taking at breakfast has a better system moving forward. Also we ensure that they offer both the Candlelight Menu and the Fleet menu to guests dining with us.

We do hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
267 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
437 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing