We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent family getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

we have a two year and wanted a short break close to home. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The restarurant food was exceptional and wonderfully presented, all with our two year at our table (she had eaten before with their homemade delights especially for children). The larger playroom was massive with plenty of space to play and plenty of toys and activities. the pool was warm and equipped with toys and inflatables. The hotel staff were very pleasant. the hotel is slightly run down but you have to remember it is an old manor house and the original features give it that homely feel. we had a many questions before we booked our weekend, the website answered many and one easy phone call to the hotel answered the rest. definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear martin c,

thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay - the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our overwhelming desire is to ensure that a short family break or longer family holiday is an effortless and hassle free experience, so we are really happy to hear that you had such a good time.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    198
    65
    39
    16
See reviews for
365
134
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Decided to stay here last min due to rain over school holidays whilst camping, more than happy to pay the above rate as hoped for a little luxury, oh, so as no to mislead price did include dinner for the adults and 1 x child 4y + 1 x child 11 mths - children charged extra for food as taken.

Arrived after long drive at 5.40 to be told dinner would be at 6.00 as hotel busy - should have turned back at this point and got back in the car, receptionist needs to be a little more accommodating and learn to disguise her huff and attitude, reluctantly moved but with great effort - we had gained an extra 30 mins grace but that was the best on offer. Arrived in busy restaurant at 6.30 to find we were 1 of 2 tables actually in. Menu disappointing and seemed to be the lounge menu as had beef burger etc on it, asked if this was only menu to be told a la carte starts at 7.00pm !

Breakfast service was disjointed and food self serve and possibly the cheapest products available from the cash and carry - needless to say we only had coffee and toast.

Swimming pool needs to be pulled down - you are hit with an awful smell of damp as you walk into the play and changing area and if you wish to use the inside play area when its raining, I guess you could use the 10 buckets dotted around to catch the rain for dribble practice if you have a football.

Totally unhappy decided to leave and seek cover elsewhere -

Please forget the refurb if you do not train and organise your staff better it will be totally waisted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jupes13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Jupes13_12,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us. Naturally, I am disappointed to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations and we will take on board your comments in a spirit of constructiveness.

It suprises us that you encountered anything other than friendly and efficient staff, because this is the cornerstone of our hospitality, borne out by the numerous previous reviews of our great team. If one of our team failed to show exemplary care and consideration, then we are truly sorry.

I can assure you that ingredients in our breakfast buffet are of the highest quality, from top quality local producers - we do not use a cash and carry. I would also point out that should guests prefer not to use our hot buffet, we are always happy to offer freshly cooked items along with kippers, smoked haddock and porridge to order. Obviously though, this does incur a wait, which is why we offer the choice of a buffet at peak demand times.

Whilst the swimming pool is not state of the art, it is clean, warm and great fun. It is due for demolition and replacement in 2013, when we will be able to offer a new 20mx8m pool, which we are all really looking forward to, so please do keep this in mind for the future.

Moonfleet will continue to evolve to meet as many expectations as possible through continuous investment in our buildings and staff, so please do keep abreast of our progress and do not hesitate to contact me personally id I can help in any way in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights/ 3 days here with our family at Easter. The welcome we received was warm and friendly and the girls felt comfortable moving around the hotel on their own right from the start. The rooms that we were given were huge, bright and airy and the bathroom in between them meant that we didn't disturb the kids while they were sleeping, so a great layout for us that really worked. The only slight criticism is they could have all done with updating. The kids loved the pool, which helped as the weather was not warm when we came!!! And the outdoor play area came in handy when waiting for our evening meal to be prepared as they didn't get bored for a second! The food was 5* quality and the waiting staff were fantastic. The kids can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff....they advised us, gave us several options and we made the choice based on their advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear LisaM,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I went to Moonfleet Manor as a non-resident to have a pedicure. The new spa rooms had just opened that day, and were very nicely done out. Unfortunately there was no hot water in the room so the therapist had to go out to fill the bowl.

Pedicure was OK, not brilliant, only filed one foot for some reason. Polish wasn't applied very well and I could have done a better job. Don't feel it was £35 well spent. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear JoStacey,

many thanks for your feedback. Naturally, I am disppointed that you were not completely happy with your pedicure. As you pointed out, it was the opening day of our new treatment rooms and as such, we encountered a couple of little glitches, which we were able to overcome on the day.

However, we would like everyone who visits our Treatment Rooms to have a great experience and I am pleased to see that you liked our new decor, so please do give us another try. Please do contact me personally and I will be delighted to organise a return visit for you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Spent 2 nights here with family. Having read previous reviews, I'd agree the hotel could do with touching up, but overall the furniture oddities were part of the appeal. The kids loved it here, enjoying the indoor pool and huge play area. The weather was gorgeous so the grown-ups were reluctant to hang around inside, but the 'hanger-style' play area would be a godsend on rainy days. We were told Weymouth beach was the best to visit, but this was horribly crowded. We would probably choose a quieter beach further afield next time.

Breakfast and dinner were good, but I would agree the extra costs for kids breakfasts, drinks and dinner soon push the price up.

We all really enjoyed our stay and found it thoroughly relaxing, even with kids running around. I do however think it's a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Spent 2 nights here with family. Having read previous reviews, I'd agree the hotel could do wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

There are great plans to improve the hotel and much is already in hand. There is a great buzz about the place, happy children running around, relaxed parents and really friendly staff. The food was fabulous, we had a particularly excellent Sunday lunch, everyone very impressed and I think it was about the best beef I have ever had. Great to see this old favourite back in the game again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have stayed at Luxury Family Hotels for 10 years so they have become a little bit of our tradition. This was our first visit to Moonfleet and we were not disappointed. As always with this brand, if you want golf courses and corporate blandness you should look elsewhere but if you want to impress your kids and have a great time with the missus, you can't do better.

Von Essen have clearly under-invested but now that Mr Chapman is back at the helm, we can rest easy that this family can continue to take their UK breaks as usual.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhhmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing