We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic English eccentric hotel - marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A classic English eccentric hotel - marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have stayed at Luxury Family Hotels for 10 years so they have become a little bit of our tradition. This was our first visit to Moonfleet and we were not disappointed. As always with this brand, if you want golf courses and corporate blandness you should look elsewhere but if you want to impress your kids and have a great time with the missus, you can't do better.

Von Essen have clearly under-invested but now that Mr Chapman is back at the helm, we can rest easy that this family can continue to take their UK breaks as usual.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhhmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    199
    65
    40
    16
See reviews for
366
135
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Aiming to be a chic family hotel but ending up as a posh Butlins. The decor was shabby chic but more shabby than chic. The pool area and games room complex were grotty and a tad depressing and in need of a complete renovation - no wonder there are hardly any pictures of the facilities on the official website. The reception area was smelly. Overall the vibe was like staying at a slightly nutty aunty's house - the one who used to throw some amazing parties back in the 80's. This laid back style could be a good thing if it weren't so expensive. Check the small print: Kids meals not included in your full/halfboard tarif. On the plus side the bedrooms, two adjoining doubles for us and our two kids were nice, clean. The staff were great. The food is very good. The grounds and location are superb. With a proper makeover, and not just wood-chip wallpaper to cover bumpy walls, this could be a brilliant hotel. Then it would be worth the costs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corkboardwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Corkboardwarrior,

Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted that you had FUN with us here at Moonfleet, which is, of course, the ultimate litmus test.

Under new ownership since December, we have started an ambitious redevelopment programme. A Cinema screen room has already been added, along with new beds, new lounge furniture and a family "snug". Our treatment rooms are being gutted as we speak and will be opening again on June 1st. Our enormous indoor play area will be stocked with more and new play stuff on an ongoing basis.

Big plans will come to fuition next year so please do check out our newly redesigned website for updates and a better gallery. It can't happen overnight, but we are picking up the pace and our constant focus will remain creating a fun environment for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed there for the Easter holidays with the family. The entire place needs a renovation, in particular the common areas that are well below standards. The kids' play area was so smelly that we had to leave. Moon fleet is more like a tired two stars b&b than a "resort"! Breakfast is low quality, mostly packed or frozen food, while dinner is good, but portions are small. I would not recommend to anybody...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VivianaaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear VivianaaLondon,

Thank you for your feedback. Naturally, I am really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is a great shame that we did not get any feedback from you on our in-house Guest Questionaires which we have set up with the express intention of our guests being a part of our future development, giving us priceless information to improve our facilities and services.

New owners took over the Hotel recently and we have an ambitious redevolopment plan going forward, however, some of these plans will take time (such as a new swimming pool & spa) so please do bear with us.

In the meantime, I would genuinely like to hear your views and comments first hand, so please do contact me at the Hotel on 01305 786948 at your convenience.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Have stayed here several times in the past year with sons aged 4 and 9 months. Agree with number of previous reviewers that the property is a little tired in places (hope that the return of the original owners will change this?) but the rooms are very individual and ultimately the level of service and friendliness of staff make this a fantastic place to stay. My 4 year old loves the various play areas/ pool (wet days are not an issue here) and surrounding area is great for kids activities. Take issue with some of the comments re food - the chef is absolutely top notch + this is one of the main draws for us. Baby listening service is very good. I'd give it 5 out of 5 if you could get a decent mobile/ wireless broadband signal but some would say this was a benefit?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Kevin B,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had another great time at Moonfleet and the team will be thrilled to know that their efforts are so warmly recieved.

New ownership has sparked a flurry of initiatives and refurbishment - new beds arrived in time for Easter, the Cinema Room should be up and running in a couple of weeks and there is much more happening, so please do watch this space.

We are looking into the phone signal issue, which is due to our rural location, but Wifi is available, free of charge and the bandwidth is increasing very soon.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We took our three grandsons away for three nights in the Moonfleet Manor. The boys are three years and under, this is why we chose a family hotel. Unfortunately, this hotel does not cater for families during the evening meal time, we were therefore left with no choice other than to eat out locally, which we found disappointing. Last year we went to Ickworth (sister hotel) and had a fantastic experience there, dining with the children was acceptable and welcomed.

I certainly did not feel comfortable leaving three young children alone and unsupervised in a hotel room whilst eating in a separate area of the hotel. Meal times are family times!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am genuinely sorry that you feel this way, as we have always endeavoured to provide a family dining offering. Having only one Restaurant location means that we have to be careful to ensure the quality of experience for both family dining and adult dining.

As a result, we have always offered family dining up to 7.30pm and have tried to preserve the adult “me-time” treat for after this time in the Restaurant for those parents that prefer to dine without their children.

We are preparing to unveil an all-day dining menu before the start of the summer which we believe will only add to that family meal time choice.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

The portions at dinner can be tiny. I had a starter & main course, had to ask for some vegetables to go with my main course (it came with virtually none at all), but I still went to bed hungry. Not great at these prices.

The location is lovely, the staff good, the vast sports room huge fun, the pool OK, but overall its slightly on the shabby side of shabby-chic, and over-priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrj_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed in the Sampson and Pollock room in the main hotel. Great room with a 3 year old who had her own separate room.

The rooms to stay in are definitely the rooms in the old part of the house which have a lot of character. The hotel itself oozes charm.

Some of the surrounding buildings need a little work but apparently they will be getting it next year.

Don't let the "tired" comments in some of the other reviews put you off if you like old world charm and character.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teakayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing