We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$156
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel(Weymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown Hotel(Weymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Russell Hotel(Weymouth)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
337
237
77
48
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
337
237
77
48
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel dogchesil beachlistening serviceresident dogclimbing wallcinema roomair hockeybaby listeningtable tennislounge areas areluxury family hotelscountry housefamily friendly hotelskittle alleyindoor play areaswimming poolplay barn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 715 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed there for the Easter holidays with the family. The entire place needs a renovation, in particular the common areas that are well below standards. The kids' play area was so smelly that we had to leave. Moon fleet is more like a tired two stars b&b than a "resort"! Breakfast is low quality, mostly packed or frozen food, while dinner is good, but portions are small. I would not recommend to anybody...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VivianaaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear VivianaaLondon,

Thank you for your feedback. Naturally, I am really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is a great shame that we did not get any feedback from you on our in-house Guest Questionaires which we have set up with the express intention of our guests being a part of our future development, giving us priceless information to improve our facilities and services.

New owners took over the Hotel recently and we have an ambitious redevolopment plan going forward, however, some of these plans will take time (such as a new swimming pool & spa) so please do bear with us.

In the meantime, I would genuinely like to hear your views and comments first hand, so please do contact me at the Hotel on 01305 786948 at your convenience.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Have stayed here several times in the past year with sons aged 4 and 9 months. Agree with number of previous reviewers that the property is a little tired in places (hope that the return of the original owners will change this?) but the rooms are very individual and ultimately the level of service and friendliness of staff make this a fantastic place to stay. My 4 year old loves the various play areas/ pool (wet days are not an issue here) and surrounding area is great for kids activities. Take issue with some of the comments re food - the chef is absolutely top notch + this is one of the main draws for us. Baby listening service is very good. I'd give it 5 out of 5 if you could get a decent mobile/ wireless broadband signal but some would say this was a benefit?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Kevin B,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had another great time at Moonfleet and the team will be thrilled to know that their efforts are so warmly recieved.

New ownership has sparked a flurry of initiatives and refurbishment - new beds arrived in time for Easter, the Cinema Room should be up and running in a couple of weeks and there is much more happening, so please do watch this space.

We are looking into the phone signal issue, which is due to our rural location, but Wifi is available, free of charge and the bandwidth is increasing very soon.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We took our three grandsons away for three nights in the Moonfleet Manor. The boys are three years and under, this is why we chose a family hotel. Unfortunately, this hotel does not cater for families during the evening meal time, we were therefore left with no choice other than to eat out locally, which we found disappointing. Last year we went to Ickworth (sister hotel) and had a fantastic experience there, dining with the children was acceptable and welcomed.

I certainly did not feel comfortable leaving three young children alone and unsupervised in a hotel room whilst eating in a separate area of the hotel. Meal times are family times!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am genuinely sorry that you feel this way, as we have always endeavoured to provide a family dining offering. Having only one Restaurant location means that we have to be careful to ensure the quality of experience for both family dining and adult dining.

As a result, we have always offered family dining up to 7.30pm and have tried to preserve the adult “me-time” treat for after this time in the Restaurant for those parents that prefer to dine without their children.

We are preparing to unveil an all-day dining menu before the start of the summer which we believe will only add to that family meal time choice.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The portions at dinner can be tiny. I had a starter & main course, had to ask for some vegetables to go with my main course (it came with virtually none at all), but I still went to bed hungry. Not great at these prices.

The location is lovely, the staff good, the vast sports room huge fun, the pool OK, but overall its slightly on the shabby side of shabby-chic, and over-priced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lrj_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed in the Sampson and Pollock room in the main hotel. Great room with a 3 year old who had her own separate room.

The rooms to stay in are definitely the rooms in the old part of the house which have a lot of character. The hotel itself oozes charm.

Some of the surrounding buildings need a little work but apparently they will be getting it next year.

Don't let the "tired" comments in some of the other reviews put you off if you like old world charm and character.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teakayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews