We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Sense - CLOSED

Sense
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sense has been established now for five years and continues to be popular choice for individual dining and groups with a capacity of 118 people at any one time. you are advised to reserve your table(s)as early as possible to ensure the date you require. the restaurant is air-conditioned throughout and the floor beautifully tiled in similar style as is the trend abroad. lighting is exquisite, especially the wall fittings that disperse beams of light both upwards and downwards.LOCAL AND FRESHThere is always an extensive choice of meals and, in typical sense fashion, you,ll find the prices are as agreeable as the quality food for which sense has such a fine reputation. the chefs are great believers in bringing new choices to the day time and evening menus, while keeping the most popular dishes.Beside fine wines, favorite spirits, soft drinks, bottled beers and lagers, there is also choice of Draught beers.freshly-brewed coffees and teas always available throughout the day and evening.there is alsoCABARET EVENINGSBUSINESS LUNCHESBIRTHDAYSWEDDINGSWINE BAR you don't have to have a meal to enjoy the sense fine wines
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spend 2 weeks at the family's apartment at least 3 times a year travelling from Lancashire.
Sense always make our 5/6 hour drive worth while!
You can NOT get a better blue/rare steak in weymouth, served with beautiful sauces, lobster as fresh it is still almost nipping! (when available on chalkboard outside).
The baileys and chocolate dessert is to die for.
Celebrated my wife's 40th here and so good we came back 5 years later for my 50th driving all the way just for an overnight stay cos I would NOT get a better steak in the uk
We love this place and cannot understand any negative reviews.
This chef/owner is cooking on his own and yes sometimes there may be a bit of a wait before courses are served but, that to us is a good sign! If we want fast food we go to KFC or McD!
Yes, it could do with a bit more space between tables but, ask yourself if you was the owner/manager would you not maximise the spaces to get optimum return on your investment?
I agree with the owners responses as I have seen many people in here complaining AFTER finishing their meals.
If you have a complaint you should complain within the first few mouthfuls.
This is THE BEST RESTAURANT in weymoutg

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDHBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    46
    18
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly on arriving wine served warm and brought back warm stroganoff was really stringy and venison was awful. Starters were cold. First visit and never again most people arriving after 8pm were well on there way !!!!!! I would not recommend I would go a few doors to the dining room which is excellent all round

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vertigobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senseweymouth, Manager at Sense, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review but we strongly believe that this review should not be for us and should be for the restaurant which been mentioned we did not have any complain about either of those dishes or warm wine and cold starter etc etc if you think you got better deal else where please go there and stop slag places off even we think you never dine with us there is plenty of places and plenty of people to go around so no worries as i see from your profile you are from somerset and yet you haven't written any review from that part so i gather you chose Weymouth as your dinning quarter so may be you should try some of your local delights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went for a friends birthday this year.....the food was delicious! There was an offer on at the time so we got a free bottle of wine too!! Will definitely be going back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank karencupit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average food but friendly service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We ate here recently as it was the only place we could get a table and had two hungry children with us.

The menu looked good and the waitress was more than happy to accommodate us in terms of providing smaller portions for our children. The pasta was lovely and the calamari great, but the Cassoulet was a disappointment as everything but the sausage was of high quality, and the sausage rather let the side down - it was a cheap tasting thing. We did mention it to the waitress who apologised but nothing more was said and we paid the full price for the meal as we were all too tired to argue the point.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabyBolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senseweymouth, Manager at Sense, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi there and thank you very much for dinning in our restaurant, as you know you arrived on a very busy night and you said you are very tired and have two hungry children i explain to you that there is a table which they are leaving and if you wouldn't mind few moments wait so we can get the table ready, you were happy to wait, although we haven't got children menu as such we offered you smaller portions for reduce price which you were happy with it, we were attentive and asked if everything fine, we did not hear about Sausage until we cleared the plates and corner of sausage wasn't eaten and you said you didn't like it and that was it nothing else been said, we are taking our customers comments seriously and try to improve on those points but just because you didn't like item of your dish we cant really offer you incentives. we are using fresh finest local ingredients where possible, thank you again for taking your time for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Ali is an excellent host, food is superb and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sense also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing