We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best scampi & chips I've had for a long time”

The Cactus Tea Rooms & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best scampi & chips I've had for a long time”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having travelled to Weymouth for a meeting my colleague and I found this place when looking for somewhere to have lunch on the seafront. I was drawn to the general look of the restaurant, it's bright, airy and well decorated.

Having opened the door the first thing to hit me was the enticing smell of freshly baked cake. A definite plus as a keen baker and lover of cake. This said I refrained from buying any of the lovely looking baked goods, strategically placed to tempt you when you're ordering food (but wish I'd got some for the drive home). The staff are really friendly and genuinely happy, which made a refreshing change. The portions of food were good, reasonably priced and most importantly very tasty. My lunch was made even more enjoyable by the view of the seafront.

I love the idea that the restaurant has a bakery attached, but was disappointed to find it closed. I will without a doubt be visiting again the next time I'm in Weymouth and fingers crossed the bakery section will be open then.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    85
    18
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Devon Apple Cake”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The cake was to die for helped by the fact that it was still warm, his cake was also lovely, good pot of tea, clean cafe, nice friendly staff, defo would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Awesome Homemade Cakes. The finest in Dorset Fact.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Without doubt the finest Homemade Apple cake in History, Fantastic service and great atmosphere. Simply a must visit for anyone who comes to Weymouth. Great family run business and service always with a smile. Every Seaside town should have one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuartstartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely crab sandwich and pot of tea”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Came here with my father, had a tasty crab sandwich (which I thought though was a little expensive at over 6 quid), and a nice warm cup of tea. There were some delicious looking cakes on the side but was too full to indulge. The atmosphere was friendly, but as they were very busy they encourraged customers who had already finished their meals and just taking up space to free up tables.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abiflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Just Any Old Tea Room!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Living just 30 minutes away in Wareham we visit Weymouth at least twice a month and always end up having either coffee and cake or lunch at this lovely well run tea room. First visited 3 seasons ago and have never once had bad service or sub standard food. Having run pubs/restaurants over the years, the old test of the quality of the sandwich and of the chips is always a good indicator of the standard to expect, we were always told if these were perfect you could usually expect the rest of the menu to be just as good. Have just had a lovely lunch today, on probably one of the busiest days of the year in Weymouth, the tea room was full to the brim but not unhappy customer to be had. The staff are always polite and efficient, explaining how to order, where to find cutlery, how long the food would be and our drinks would be straight out. The cakes are made on the premises, in the little bakery through an adjoining door, the Paradise Slice always being a favourite of mine, but sadly not always available - it sells very quickly. The menu has a good selection of breakfasts, snacks, vegetarian and main meals. The drinks are the usual hot, fizzy cans, wines, beers and spirits. Seating is both inside and out, with a doggy friendly area also available inside.

We have probably tried most of the restaurants/cafes in Weymouth and can honestly say that there are some awful places that don't deserve the custom they get. The Cactus is not fine dining but a fantastic tea room providing good quality food and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cactus Tea Rooms & Bistro also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Cactus Tea Rooms & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing